Seattle Dutch Babies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've never eaten one of these before, but it wasn't bad. It tastes like french toast to me. It puffed up like crazy...that was fun to see! I'm at high altitude, and it was still puffy. I wish I read the reviews beforehand...the pancake was in the oven at 375 for 10 minutes, then I read the reviews while I was waiting, and then cranked up the heat to 425 for another 10 minutes. It was puffy and brown and beautiful. Added powdered sugar and real maple syrup on top at the end, but overall, a little too egg-y for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
it was more like an inch thick pancake with a custard like texture. I think the oven temperature was way off. we made one last week that was cooked at 450 degrees and then reduced to 425. that one puffed up and was wonderful. don't know what happened with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We used to eat these on special occasions when I was a kid. They are SO delicious...my husband had never had them, and he was VERY impressed. I serve them with lemon juice and powdered sugar. 5 stars with the correct oven temperature/timing. I had to cook them for almost twice this amount of time. 10 mins on 375, then after 10 more at 325, I upped the temp. to 350 and gave them an additional 5 minutes. I think if the temp started hotter (some reviewers said 425) it would have gone a bit faster. Either way, you know they're done when they puff up and they are no longer liquidy in the center. Yum Yum, thanks for bringing me back to my childhood :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Did not turn out at all like the dutch baby pancakes I have had in Seattle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by enkmama
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My son Loves these! I usually make something similar to this which I got out of a just for kids cookbook that I've had since I was 10 and it tasted pretty much the same. This was good but there is NEVER enough, which is the same issue I had with the other recipe. I will give these another try and hope for thicker and if not I will just go back to my kids cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
We love these -- they are kind of like a blank canvas that you can put anything on. Fruit, cinnamon sugar, syrup and butter, whatever you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Had fun with this! Next time I will reduce butter and add vanilla and sugar to the batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
My mom has a great recipe for these but I used this recipe instead of calling her, big mistake. These were super thick, even though I cooked them longer than the recommended time they were still doughy in the middle. It was also really bland, even with the lemon juice and powdered sugar on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this exactly as it was written but after the allotted cooking time it was still raw so after checking the reviews and the reviews on other similar recipes I upped the oven temp to 425 and cooked it another 15 minutes. It looked good but was still a little undercooked, I should have left it in for another 5 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Macy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Most of the time I have to be careful not to overcook things in my oven, but with this recipe I had to keep it in much longer than the 15 minutes that was listed. I'm not sure how much longer - I just kept baking it until it puffed and resembled a popover. It didn't turn out to be quite the texture I was expecting, however the taste was good and I enjoyed it with extra butter and a cup of hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States