Seattle Dutch Babies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This always makes me feel like a champ in the kitchen. Her recipe is fail-safe. I put it all in the food processor and whirl together for less than one minute, then do the rest exactly the same. Be sure to do the additional 5 minutes at 325 - I skipped that twice and the third time did so, and it was MUCH better - the sides got crispy. BRAVO WOMAN - UPDATE: Did a pair of Dutch Babies in the small #4 cast irons, they came out magnificent with both of them riding the sides of pans. We had two baby Dutch Babies! YUMMMILLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Let me start by saying I had never had a Dutch Baby until I made this recipe. I made it for the first time last week and followed the directions exactly, except that I had to nearly double the cooking time. I came back to AR and looked at other reviews and decided to try again. So, I made this recipe again last night and added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of vanilla. I also melted one Tbsp butter in a glass pie plate in the oven while the oven was heating up. I then poured in the batter, added about 15 minutes to the cooking time, and wow! They really puffed up this time and had a much better consistency and taste. I just served with butter and a little powdered sugar. I will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
It looked interesting & puffed up nicely but tasted dull even with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I'm a Seattle girl, and this is basically the recipe I learned in high school (!) except I use 1/4 cup butter. Agree with the reviewers who stress that melting the butter in the pan in the oven is important to get the babies to puff up. I've made this as a savory dish, topped with cheese and green chile or salsa. But it's really best with fresh lemon lemon and powdered sugar. Definitely an easy Sunday brunch or quick weekday breakfast-for-dinner at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I had a Dutch Baby recipe that I made for my family for years. It was a true family favorite. Then I lost the recipe. I tried another gal's recipe, but it was definitely not the Dutch Baby Recipe my family has always known and loved. Then I tried your recipe. BINGO!!!! This is it...this is the one. Thank you, so much, for submitting it. I'm in heaven. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Loved this! Fast and easy. My VERY picky grandson who never eats more than a few bites of anything, asked for and ate seconds! I served it with a Blueberry sauce made by adding 1 cup of Maple Syrup and 1 1/2 Cups of Frozen Blueberries and bringing it to a boil over med/low heat, and boiled it for a minute or two. It was a Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is my new breakfast obsession. I cant believe something this complex and yummy comes from just 5 everyday ingredients. I pester my DH to make these every weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is one great recipe. My grandma used to make Dutch Babies for me and my cousin in the summers when I was a kid. I was just browsing through the Seattle recipes because I live about 30 miles away. I found this recipe and it brought back so many great memories from childhood. Thank you so much for sharing. Next time I make I am going to probably add sausage and cheddar cheese. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've never eaten one of these before, but it wasn't bad. It tastes like french toast to me. It puffed up like crazy...that was fun to see! I'm at high altitude, and it was still puffy. I wish I read the reviews beforehand...the pancake was in the oven at 375 for 10 minutes, then I read the reviews while I was waiting, and then cranked up the heat to 425 for another 10 minutes. It was puffy and brown and beautiful. Added powdered sugar and real maple syrup on top at the end, but overall, a little too egg-y for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States