Seasoning For Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made this recipe a month or so ago to use in a taco stew recipe. The stew turned out incredibly well and it only used half of the seasoning mix, so I was excited to try it in tacos. I finally made tacos tonight. They were so good! I've honestly never had anything against taco seasoning mix, but this recipe was a little better even than Lawry's taco seasoning. I suggest using only 2 teaspoons of salt in the mix and sprinkling a scant tablespoon of flour onto the taco mix when it's almost done cooking if you make 1 pound of meat using 2 1/2 tablespoons of seasoning and the 3/4 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This tasted similar to a generic brand I usually buy. I went to make a quick meal of tacos and realized I had shells but no seasoning. So pack up three children and run to the store or improvise? I used this recipe but cut back on the salt as someone suggested. It was good. It passed the kid test and I enjoyed it. I made a double batch of the seasoning but will add some corn starch or xanthum gum to the remaining batch. GREAT job on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Great "Seasoning For Tacos"! This is much better than the packaged stuff and so easy to put together! This recipe is perfect as is, but I love to play with stuff so I cut back on the salt, used half regular paprika and half smoked paprika and added some ancho chili powder. Wow! This is a definite keeper and perfect to store in a mini tupperware container along with my other spice mixes to have on hand. Great for tacos, seasoning chicken, throwing into chili or anything else you can think of adding it into that might need a bit of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Due to my 7 & 9 yr old kids, I did not add the cayenne. I used "smoked paprika" which gave the seasoning a wonderful, rich flavor. I also upped the cumin to 5 tsp since we love the flavor. I appreciated that this recipe contains nothing I can't pronounce! Thanks for the post, we'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I've used this for years and never buy the prepackaged mix. Plus it doesn't have any ingredient that I cannot pronounce or know what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Would have been great with about half the salt. I'll use this again with that adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was really good and it was so easy to throw this together. Nice flavor, not too spicy, but not bland either. I only used 1 tsp salt. It didn't need more. This made enough for 2 lbs. of meat. I used half and saved half for use another time. Especially great for picky eaters as there is no onion, no green pepper, no tomato, and no other chunks of veggies in this. My husband commented it tasted like chili powder, but we are used to the taqueria style tacos here and in comparison I agree. I think it would actually be better suited as chili seasoning however, for a taco it worked. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
No more taco seasoning packets for us! This is terrific! I used a teaspoon less salt (personal preference) and still found the seasoning to be wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I liked this spice mix a lot for beef - I used it instead of a pack of spice in another recipe and I think it turned out better this way. I only used half of what was called for on top of the meat and it turned out just right for me - not too spicy but not too light on flavor either. I didn't have onion powder so I subbed dried onion flakes and it was still really good. Thank you for the spice mix recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I love this recipe! I've never been in love with any of the store bought ones but this one is great. The only thing different I do is I do 9 tablespoons of seasoning per pound of meat. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States