Seasoning For Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
We really like this taco seasoning mix, I've tried many on this site, but this is one of our favorites. My kids always ask for seconds on their taco meat when I make this. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I ran out of the packaged taco seasoning and went on line and got this recipe. I'll go back to the packaged one. I thought this was missing something compared to the package type, the mix of spices just weren't right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Not too shabby! I've always wanted to try and make my own seasonings but haven't ever gotten around to it, until now. I ran out of the packaged taco seasoning and was in the process of making dinner. This recipe saved me a trip to the store because the ingredients were common spices I keep on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I tried this recipe a few days ago to make taco salad and I liked it but didn't love it. I didn't add the cayenne pepper because I didn't have any and when I was at the store last they didn't carry it in a small bottle. I like my usual packet of seasoning but this is still pretty good if you don't have any on hand or if you are making a lot of taco meat for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This seasoning is every bit as good as the packaged ones. The only thing I will change next time is to increase the salt and the cayenne pepper by 1/4 tsp. each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I've used this for years and never buy the prepackaged mix. Plus it doesn't have any ingredient that I cannot pronounce or know what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Awesome, and you don't have to use all the salt....so much better than the store bought stuff that has additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Excellent spice mix. Very similar to the one I make with two differences. I add 1 to 2 teaspoons of cinnamon (depending on the recipe I'll use it for: 2 spoons is for chili con carne)! And also just a pinch or two of ground clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuela Nany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldorado, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mijas, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made this recipe a month or so ago to use in a taco stew recipe. The stew turned out incredibly well and it only used half of the seasoning mix, so I was excited to try it in tacos. I finally made tacos tonight. They were so good! I've honestly never had anything against taco seasoning mix, but this recipe was a little better even than Lawry's taco seasoning. I suggest using only 2 teaspoons of salt in the mix and sprinkling a scant tablespoon of flour onto the taco mix when it's almost done cooking if you make 1 pound of meat using 2 1/2 tablespoons of seasoning and the 3/4 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was really good seasoning. I did use only 2 tsp. salt after reading the reviews but other than that I left the rest the same. I like that it wasn't spicy for my kids but yet flavorful. But if you like things hot you better up the cayenne pepper or whatever. Instead of the ususal hamburger tacos, I took a small pot roast and cut it up into very very small pieces. Then I seasoned the meat and threw it on a hot cast iron griddle and seared it. I served it with all the usual taco fixing-corn tortillas, cheese, tomatoes, cilantro, guacamole, sour cream, limes,seared peppers and onions MMMMM....good. It was like eating in a good mexican restaurant. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States