Seasoning For Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Great "Seasoning For Tacos"! This is much better than the packaged stuff and so easy to put together! This recipe is perfect as is, but I love to play with stuff so I cut back on the salt, used half regular paprika and half smoked paprika and added some ancho chili powder. Wow! This is a definite keeper and perfect to store in a mini tupperware container along with my other spice mixes to have on hand. Great for tacos, seasoning chicken, throwing into chili or anything else you can think of adding it into that might need a bit of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This seasoning mix is easy, cheap, and a great alternative to purchased taco seasoning. I always have all the ingredients on hand, and I like that I can add additional amounts of spices we like, such as more cumin (my boyfriend's preference), or more chile powder (my preference)! Keeps well in a jar and is perfect for those nights a quick meal is in order. Great with ground beef or turkey for tacos, or mixed with pasta for a "hamburger helper" type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronniecaliente

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2Boys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Not a bad place to start. One of my kids doesn't like spicy foods and she wouldn't eat it. The rest of us had full glasses of water with dinner. Having made these I know which spices to play with for our tastes. I will start with less cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
In a multi-recipe taco tasting, this recipe was the runaway winner, by a mile. We all thought it had the best flavor, but could stand just a little heat. I recommend doubling the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon. If you're tired of the high prices and weird ingredients in the packets, look no further; Easy, cheap, made with common pantry spices, this is the only taco seasoning you'll ever need. It really is the best on this site. I ought to know, I tested them! ***UPDATE**** I used this last week for pulled pork tacos. Amazing! I cut a pork tenderloin into 4 big pieces, rubbed them all over with this mix, put them in a 1-qt slow cooker and poured a cup of fresh salsa over all. Cooked on low for 5 hrs. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made 6 servings to use in the recipe Taco Stuffed Shells. Tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Good, but have to keep the rest in cupboard until you use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I gave it only 4 stars as it was really salty. Next time I will cut back on salt but otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I will use a tad less salt next time but great to not have to buy those packets anymore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used to use the store bought taco mix and never really liked it, so I looked at the ingredients and decided to make my own, I realized I already had all those ingredients at home. I add some lime juice and ketchup for more coloring, it turns pretty good, now I can enjoy it in burritos, tacos and nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States