Seasoned Swai Fish Fillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this with some rice pilaf, used the leftover juice on top of the rice.. MmmmMmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill P.
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I too typically do not like fish (especially baked) and saw this on sale at the store & had never heard of it. I Googled it, read it had good reviews as a mild white fish, so I went ahead and got it. Found this recipe and used the sauce and I really like it as well as the rest of my family. Would highly recommend! Served with Hasselback potatoes, green beans & wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I used the allrecipes phone app when in the grocery store and saw Swai fish and had no idea how to cook it. I made this recipe for dinner tonight as the ingredients are commonly stocked in my home. Everyone loved this! I served it with steamed green beans and some quinoa. To make extra sauce to put on rice or quinoa, double it. I used butter instead of margarine. This recipe is saved to my recipe box now and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
so easy and yummy. all 4 of my kids ate it, 2 year old asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I came across this type of fish in the grocery store today and what caught my eye was that I had never heard of it and it was "Wild caught". I never by farm raised fish and lately thats all I have been seeing as well as color added to salmon?? So with that being said, I made a few changes. I hate cilantro. I hate the smell of it and the taste. Its just nasty to me. So instead of cilantro I used dill. I love the smell of dill and taste. I usually use dill with any fish I bake in the oven anyway. And instead of one tablespoon of lemon juice I used juice from a whole lemon, without measuring I chopped up a nice size clove of fresh garlic, instead of paprika I used a nice dash of red cayenne pepper, organic garlic powder, salt and pepper and used real butter instead of margarine. And I totally ditched the white wine. And as I was heating the mixture in the sauce pan, I gave it a little taste and it was so yummy. I actually am a fan of the fish too. Nice, light and wild caught in the US....doesnt get any better than that. And YES! I would soooo make this again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We really enjoyed these. I think the cook time is a bit off, we had to cook for at least 4-5 extra minutes to get it cooked well. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
housewife628.....if your fish monger told you it was US caught, I would not go back to him in the future. Swai is native to the rivers of SE Asia. Almost all of what you buy in the supermarkets are either frozen or previous frozen and farm raised. It might have been caught by a US citizen but he was in the Mekong Delta when he caught it. This recipe is very good and have used it for the past 6-7 yrs with either Swai or Basa. I add 3 tbl of oleo and 2 tbl of cilanto when cooking. Also great on the grill or deep fried after dredding in egg wash and 'Dixie Fry' seasoning mix. 6/27/04 - I am now just frying Swai with no egg wash. Just adding a little Accent and paprika to the Dixie Fry Seasoning Mix. Swai does not shrink at all when frying and actually looks like it plumps up during frying. With fish so expensive now this is a great buy. Bought 4 lbs bag on sale last week at the supermarket for $9.99 per bag. Cheaper than ground beef, for sure. I would buy some more Basa but it seems to have disappeared from the supermarkets completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I substituted olive oil for the butter and it was still excellent. Simple recipe and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I did not like swai/catfish until this recipe. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Really really good! Followed the recipe to a t and couldn't ask for more. Easy to put together and perfectly seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States