Seasoned Swai Fish Fillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this with some rice pilaf, used the leftover juice on top of the rice.. MmmmMmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I felt like it lacked something. My husband said he thought it had possibilities if it was pan seared so I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill P.
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I too typically do not like fish (especially baked) and saw this on sale at the store & had never heard of it. I Googled it, read it had good reviews as a mild white fish, so I went ahead and got it. Found this recipe and used the sauce and I really like it as well as the rest of my family. Would highly recommend! Served with Hasselback potatoes, green beans & wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a lot like a skillet cod with cilantro butter recipe that I make only difference is lemon instead of lime. I probably would not do it in the oven again as it is too easy to overcook and will stick to the skillet. However, the flavor is great - I placed sliced lemons on top of the filets after I poured the butter/garlic mixture on top. Salt and peppered the filets then sprinkled with the cilantro and a little paprika for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I used the allrecipes phone app when in the grocery store and saw Swai fish and had no idea how to cook it. I made this recipe for dinner tonight as the ingredients are commonly stocked in my home. Everyone loved this! I served it with steamed green beans and some quinoa. To make extra sauce to put on rice or quinoa, double it. I used butter instead of margarine. This recipe is saved to my recipe box now and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I came across this type of fish in the grocery store today and what caught my eye was that I had never heard of it and it was "Wild caught". I never by farm raised fish and lately thats all I have been seeing as well as color added to salmon?? So with that being said, I made a few changes. I hate cilantro. I hate the smell of it and the taste. Its just nasty to me. So instead of cilantro I used dill. I love the smell of dill and taste. I usually use dill with any fish I bake in the oven anyway. And instead of one tablespoon of lemon juice I used juice from a whole lemon, without measuring I chopped up a nice size clove of fresh garlic, instead of paprika I used a nice dash of red cayenne pepper, organic garlic powder, salt and pepper and used real butter instead of margarine. And I totally ditched the white wine. And as I was heating the mixture in the sauce pan, I gave it a little taste and it was so yummy. I actually am a fan of the fish too. Nice, light and wild caught in the US....doesnt get any better than that. And YES! I would soooo make this again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
housewife628.....if your fish monger told you it was US caught, I would not go back to him in the future. Swai is native to the rivers of SE Asia. Almost all of what you buy in the supermarkets are either frozen or previous frozen and farm raised. It might have been caught by a US citizen but he was in the Mekong Delta when he caught it. This recipe is very good and have used it for the past 6-7 yrs with either Swai or Basa. I add 3 tbl of oleo and 2 tbl of cilanto when cooking. Also great on the grill or deep fried after dredding in egg wash and 'Dixie Fry' seasoning mix. 6/27/04 - I am now just frying Swai with no egg wash. Just adding a little Accent and paprika to the Dixie Fry Seasoning Mix. Swai does not shrink at all when frying and actually looks like it plumps up during frying. With fish so expensive now this is a great buy. Bought 4 lbs bag on sale last week at the supermarket for $9.99 per bag. Cheaper than ground beef, for sure. I would buy some more Basa but it seems to have disappeared from the supermarkets completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My husband really liked this recipe. I didn't, but I'm not a fan of fish! But I'm trying! So if your fond of fish, swai is a nice firm fish bakes, and steams well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight... didn't have the white wine but just did without it. It was good but we thought it needed more salt (which we just added) and alittle kick - some sort of spice. I'll probably try it again and add a few more ingredients to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Really really good! Followed the recipe to a t and couldn't ask for more. Easy to put together and perfectly seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States