Seasoned Swai Fish Fillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Omg it's delicious..I didn't have any white wine or paprika I used cayenne pepper instead..& I also used Accent seasoning instead of plain ole salt! It's good I just cooked an early dinner my husband & son isn't home to try it but I'm sure they'll love it! U should try it u will LOVE it!! Thank You ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I found the recipe after buying the fillets. Loved the recipe along with the rest of the family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
First time cooking Swai, found this recipe for it, and it's spot on as far as flavor, and this being a mild fish. I do see what some are saying about lacking a little punch, but I didn't use cilantro, since I was out of it. Next time I'll try fresh cilantro, and maybe a tad more pepper. Otherwise, I was pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Hubby, son and I all liked it. I would put more cilantro in next time. I used more garlic and I also would consider cayenne pepper in place of paprika for a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good recipe my boyfriend found. First time using this fish. We bought it because it was on sale. It has no fish smell, and I agree it is a bit mushy, but not a nasty texture. It is a pretty good recipe. We did not follow it exactly due to having 4 times as much fish and not wanting to use as much wine. You can change up the seasoning a bit to your taste if you like more flavor or saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I thought this sauce was very good and you could pour it over just about any fish and it would taste good. A note about Swai for those who are wondering about this fish. This was on sale for $5.88 for a 2lb bag of frozen fillets so I thought I would give it a try. I came home and Googled it and frankly, I was kind of scared as there is some pretty non flattering info about this fish. People who don't like fish like this one because it doesn't taste like fish, in fact I had a hard time deciding if it tasted like anything at all? So yes, it is very mild and be prepared for a slightly mushy texture. I might buy it again because it is very inexpensive and my boys liked it. I honestly haven't decided but I would definitely use this simple lemon, butter(yes, butter, I never use margarine) sauce on any fish with the same good results. Hope this is helpful and oh, if you are a cilantro hater chop up some italian parsley in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Pretty good - I used a bit more wine and kept the lemon juice low because my daughter is not supposed to have citrus or acids for a few weeks, and still this was tasty. A bit more garlic (always, in this house!), and I simmered the sauce a bit longer to avoid a raw garlic bite. I had the oven up higher because I was roasting cauliflower, and it still took a bit longer than the 12 minutes in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Best random recipe I have EVER found. It was about 7:00 and I was head deep in work and planned on getting up at 7:30 for something convenient to eat. Then I remembered I had thawed a big swai filet today so I thought I would just toss it in the oven with salt and pepper to cook while I wrapped up my project. I googled how to bake swai because I always mess up temperatures. This was the first result. I skimmed the ingredients and since I had everything and it looked simple I set forth. I only switched it up for butter since I don't eat margarine. Anyway, it was sooo easy and smelled incredible while cooking. The sauce is so quick and so tasty. I just realized I forgot paprika but it didn't need it. I'm not a big fan of the texture of baked fish so I seared it for a few minutes but I'm afraid to do only cook as it might burn off that delicious sauce flavor? But I might try that next time - but only for the sake of texture. Either way... I gobbled it up with a small bowl of edamame which isn't the most complementary side dish...but I don't care - the fish was so deeeelish. Now I'll enjoy a glass of the sav blanc I had to open as I work onward tonight. And I will be certain to keep this recipe in my back pocket . Beats a PB&J for sure! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made a few changes but for the most part left it as given. I love it and will be preparing more. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I changed very few things overall. Instead of cilantro I used dill and and cut back a lot on the garlic even though I love it. Used 9x13 Pyrex dish and Olive oil spray. Placed the fish on top of lemon slices so it wouldn't stick. I warmed the butter, chicken broth (not wine) and seasonings in the microwave at 30 second intervals stirring often. Poured this directly on the fish and since our fillets were quite thick they took about 20 min to bake at 350. Superb flavor. Even the 18 month old ate every last bit and asked for seconds. I also made a delicious risotto type of side dish using quinoa, mushrooms, spinach, Parmesan and some seasonings. I used thyme in the side dish and worried it would clash with the thyme but it was fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States