Seasoned Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Basamati rice is supposed to be lightly flavored so anyone complaining about little or no taste is just about right :) It is meant to be incorporated into the main dish. Recipes aren't always meant to be followed to the T and I usually tweak any recipe before I make it :) Everyone's sense of taste is completely different, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilithskyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
How can anyone go wrong w/ this! It's soooo simple and so flavorful. I added some chopped bell peppers and corn, but there are so many possibilities w/ this dish. I was so happy to see someone finally using nutritional yeast that I felt I had to make this. Thank goodness I did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Tasty and easy! We thought this tasted just like risotto. I wouldn't change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I made this using quinoa,and it was delicious.Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was a major surprise! I made it at the last minute because we had NOTHING for a side dish. I used regular margarine instead of soy, and we didn't have any nutritional yeast, but it was delicious! Even my picky husband liked it. Very good, easy recipe that has a lot of flavor! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Nutritional yeast is so underrated. This recipe makes great use of it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollibomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I was surprised on how good this recipe tasted. This is the first time I have used this type of yeast. Following the advice of another poster, I added cut some color peppers and also added cut up mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My husband and I loved this rice. It makes a great simple, light side dish. I spilled the basil while I was pouring it and probably doubled the basil (woops), and it still tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fantastic! Love that I now have another use for my nutritional yeast. I had basmati rice on hand, but chose to use jasmine. I used regular margarine and cooked 2c. rice in my rice cooker (2 cups is the minimum). Followed the rest of the recipe cooking in a saucepan. The ratio of rice to all the other ingredients was perfect! Went great with the steak I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My rendition is no longer vegan, but it is tasty. I had no nutritional yeast so I used grated Cojita and I went with fresh basil. I also just omitted the soy margarine. In my opinion, it wasn't needed. We enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States