Seasoned Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Yummy too flavorful though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fantastic! Love that I now have another use for my nutritional yeast. I had basmati rice on hand, but chose to use jasmine. I used regular margarine and cooked 2c. rice in my rice cooker (2 cups is the minimum). Followed the rest of the recipe cooking in a saucepan. The ratio of rice to all the other ingredients was perfect! Went great with the steak I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My rendition is no longer vegan, but it is tasty. I had no nutritional yeast so I used grated Cojita and I went with fresh basil. I also just omitted the soy margarine. In my opinion, it wasn't needed. We enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
nothing special I don't like the over taste of nutritional yeast I don't like the nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was a little disappointing. For one thing, the proportions of water to rice seemed off; normally I try to follow recipes as written, but every set of rice instructions I've ever seen calls for twice as much water as rice, and this one calls for three times as much water as rice. Since the instructions here were to cook the rice until the water was evaporated -- just like every other recipe I've seen -- I went with what I knew worked, and used 2 cups of water. Also, I really love nutritional yeast. I REALLY love it. I expected a mild taste, but I was also somehow hoping for a fuller flavor. This just tasted like watered down nutritional yeast with some dried basil. Having said all of that, it wasn't bad; I just had higher hopes. Probably won't make it again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Basamati rice is supposed to be lightly flavored so anyone complaining about little or no taste is just about right :) It is meant to be incorporated into the main dish. Recipes aren't always meant to be followed to the T and I usually tweak any recipe before I make it :) Everyone's sense of taste is completely different, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilithskyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Pretty good. Instead of rice, I used riced cauliflower, and I used the equivalent of chopped fresh garlic and fresh basil. A few dashes of Italian Seasoning at the end gave it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My husband and I loved this rice. It makes a great simple, light side dish. I spilled the basil while I was pouring it and probably doubled the basil (woops), and it still tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Not as tasty as I was expecting. My husband liked it but I did not. I used real butter instead of soy butter so perhaps that could have affected intended taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I was surprised on how good this recipe tasted. This is the first time I have used this type of yeast. Following the advice of another poster, I added cut some color peppers and also added cut up mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States