Seasoned Fan Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Yum! Very versatile recipe--easy to alter with different spice blends. Here is my trick for making the thin slices in just a few seconds--no muss, no fuss: I place the potato in between 2 wooden spoon handles. I can then cut the slices super-fast, and the kinfe hits the two handles about 1/2 cm from the bottom, preventing it from going all the way through. Literally takes about 3-4 seconds per potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Loved the flavor of these and they look magnificient to serve to guests!... I used a tomato slicer and got 10 perfect slits that I made about 1/2 inch through as my guide, then I finished slicing with a large knife. I first sprinkled garlic salt in each slit, then the Italian seasoning then drizzled with margarine. I baked for 50 min. then added cheese as directed, but the cheese started to brown at 425 so I took them out of the oven a little early so they were slightly underdone!... I will cook potatoes longer and then add cheese last 5 min. to prevent that next time. Delicous and the house smelled wonderful while they were baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great potato recipe when you're looking for something besides the "same ole, same ole" things. To make it easier, quicker and to get the spices deep into the potato better, I mixed the seasonings into the melted butter instead of sprinkling the spices on the potato first then drizzling with the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peebs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 6 minutes or so before the oven. I reduced the oven temp to 350 and the time to 20 minutes since they were almost done coming out of the microwave. I had to cook a pork chops at the same time. It made it easy to have everything done at once. It was a quck way to have these great spuds. I added garlic salt. Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Great idea, but a little bland. This recipe definitely could have used more of the flavors it already had. Luckily, I made a smaller version of the recipe and sampled. I liked it much better once I added 2 tbsp chives, additional salt, doubled the cheddar, and a dash of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annndreaaaaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These potatoes are great and make a nice presentation. I usually stick with Italian seasonings (rosemary, thyme) and add garlic powder. I omit the chedder and use all parmesan. These go great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I made them with rosemary and olive oil and served with roast beef. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These are great potatoes! I peeled mine before baking. They came out crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. A nice change to regular baked or roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
potatoes were a little bit of a challenge to cut. but I used a skewer to stop the blade from going all the way thru the potatoe and that helped. My boyfriend had no problem cutting them perfectly. I used parmasean and a blend of chopped herbs. Nice presentation, next time I will put boursin with parm on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
The potatoes turned out perfect and crispy on the outside. I will try and fan my potatoes out more the next time as I found that the seasoning only was on the top and the cheese crusted on the top but not down in the potatoes which I think would taste better. I used a blend of the Italian Seasoning I and II recipes. However for this I would omit the Sage as it was really pungent on the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States