Seasoned Fan Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made these for years, but have never used the spices. I am going to try that. I simply fan the potatoes, drizzle with butter and baste every 15 minutes for an hour....they are yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
On the pro side, this recipe looks and tastes great; on the con side, it is time consuming and takes patience to do it right. Several reviews said this was bland, but it isn't bland if you take the time to sprinkle all the seasonings between the slices. In addition to the Italian seasoning and salt & pepper, I added some freshly chopped rosemary. Instead of melting the butter, I just used softened butter which I just spread across the opened fan of potato slices so it would melt down inside. For the last 10 minutes, I added the cheeses also in between the slices with just a little across the top with parsley. I would make these again, if I'm in a patient mood, and would also try slicing the potato lengthwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Kind of a pain to make, but people love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were so EASY to make. They are fun and cute and taste amazing! I used season salt and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Pretty good! They were fun to make, you can add pretty much any seasonings you would like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Loved it and so easy to prepare =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I followed the advice of another review and placed the potato between 2 wooden spoon handles to cut. Worked like a charm! I added more seasonings- additional salt, chives, paprika and rosemary with a bit of olive oil sprinkled on as well, plus I doubled the cheese and peeled my potatoes. I made this for a group of friends along with bbqed chicken and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
There is nothing wrong with this recipe, but it is hard to beat a plain, fluffy potato with the toppings you like. We had leftovers and I used them the next morning, diced up, and browned in the leftover bacon dippings, served as home fries. Will probably not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
My recipe turned down good. I used regular yellow potatoes. I used two teaspoons of Good Seasons Salad dressing and recipe mix to season the potatoes along with the salt and pepper. I substituted the Italian seasoning with Basil seasoning. I omitted the shredded cheddar cheese and used only grated Parmesan cheese. I love the presentation of the fanned potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuraKnits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
These are truly the best baked potatos ever!!. I microwaved these potatos for 5 minutes before slicing and putting in the oven....also I mixed toasted onion (from Pensey's) along with the butter and italian seasoning and drizzled it on potatos..so good!! I waited until potatos were about 5 minutes away from being done and then added cheese.....what a potato!! Just remember to reduce the cooking time in the oven because the potatos have been microwaved first...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States