Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Outstanding recipe. I took the suggestion of others and reduced the amount of butter used and paid careful attention to the sauce during and after emulsifying the butter. I used a dry chardonay for the recipes because it's what I had on hand and it still worked beautifully. I took another reviewers recommendation and sliced the cooked tuna into 1/2 slices with a sharp knife and fanned them out on the plate over a little basmati rice with a salad. Very nice, very elegant, very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dukslayr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was very good. I need to work on my searing skills and I think it would be better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I would give it a 1, but husband LOVED it, so I'll compromise with a 3. We halved the butter, but followed everything else exactly. Could have done with less cilantro. Be aware that this is VERY wasabi-y. It was a strange taste to me to have wasabi have the greasy texture of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was amazing! I made it for my family with a few minor adjustments. I substituted Light Smart Balance in place of the butter and used only 1/2 a cup instead of a full cup. Also, I served it with the pineapple salsa that one of the other reviewers recommended...pair it with some jasmine rice and some wilted spinach and it was a meal made in heaven. My family didn't even guess that it was healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Excellent! We cooked ours a little longer b/c fillets were thick. Wish they were a little more rare in hind site. Added extra wasabi to sauce - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The wasabi butter sause was wonderful... a lot of flavor and it goes perfectly with the tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I just realized that I have never rated this recipe. This is the best tuna steaks I have ever had. My husband and I go to a very upscale restaurant for our anniversary every year just to get their tuna steaks but this recipe is so much better that now I have had to find other things to eat when we go. Anyway, its very easy to make and always a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Great! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
The wasabi butter sauce is great and can be served with any fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States