Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love tuna, it is my favorite so I was very happy to find this recipe. I made this last night and was very impressed with the flavoring. It didn't look like the picture as I basically seared mine for about 40 secs per side, preferring it rare. I omitted the cilantro as I don't like cilantro and I added sesame seeds to the fillets before searing them. This was big hit in my house and I am so excited to make it again. Making the sauce was a little timely but well worth it! I think I will make double the sauce next time and save the leftovers for future use. Thank you Darla for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra
Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
As others have mentioned, this took more than than given to prepare but it was so delicious, I've no complaints! It was delicious! Next time I make it I will use a little less cilantro & reduce at a higher heat to minimize prep time. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This wasabi-butter sauce is out of this world. I serve over wild rice. I find that the nutty flavor and texture is a wonderful complement to the tuna and sauce. You must try this at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe is amazing! Just like from a restaurant. We did a few minor changes...we used regular white vinegar (we didn't have white wine vinegar), we skipped the cilantro, and we added in about another tablespoon of wasabi (gave it a mild heat level with a nice strong flavor). Definitely making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My tuna was fishy (yuck) but this sauce saved it with its richness and acid. Might be a little much for a fresh rawer cut, but we had to cook ours pretty well through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This sauce is a staple for seared tuna. Take your time incorporating the butter. Follow the recipe, this sauce is mind blowing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Made this for a dinner group, and everyone was very impressed by the sauce. Excellent recipe, and one I will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
wow, this was awesome! husband loves seared tuna and he said he would eat this every night!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizzywizzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We found this recipe after we returned from the grocery store and as such, did not have cilantro. We decided that wasabi & butter alone made this sauce worth trying. We were not disappointed! I can only image how great it will be next time w/the cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I have tried a LOT of tuna recipes on this site and this one is by far the best!!! I LOVE it! I couldn't bring myself to throw out the strained shallots so I threw them in with some fresh baby spinach and lightly sauteed them together which was also amazing, you wouldn't think that the wasabi-butter sauce would be good with spinach but it was. Also I cooked my tuna on the grill which I feel was much better. I have made this recipe many times now and every time it is wonderful. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States