Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
**Simmer it with the Soy Sauce and Wasabi.. it makes a huge difference on the flavor scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
this was delicious, gourmet dining quality, very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is absolutely heavenly. Beyond and above any world class Michelin reviews. The wasabi/ cilantro/ butter/soy sauce with reduced wine/vinegar/shallot essence is so very awesome! I sometimes replace wasabi with horse radish to give it a milder "kick". The secret truly is in the tuna itself: The more rare, the better. I encrusted the tuna with multi colored coarsely ground peppers. and put it on the hottest skillet to SEAR no more than one minute on each side. If you want the inside really really rare like sashimi, simply refrigerate the tuna steaks at around 35 degrees before transferring them to the HOTTEST skillet. Um Um, Sinfully Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
SO. GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This sauce is dangerously delicious. Now that I've made it, I want to put it on everything - scrambled eggs, french fries...come on, there have got to be more things I can put this on. We used horseradish instead of wasabi, and it worked like a charm. It's amazing how the flavor doesn't overpower everything. I wasn't sold on the addition of the cilantro leaves, but it worked out ok. I might even consider leaving the shallots in the reduction next time, as they could give an interesting texture complement to the cilantro...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is probably the best recipe on the internet. Beginners, don't be afraid to try this... just follow the sauce instructions to the letter. Like the other reviewers, I cut the butter in half and doubled the wasabi. Absolutely OMG delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Fool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chappell Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have been a sushi lover for a very long time and the flavor of this recipe subdues that pallet with a song of deliciousness. This is a special occasion recipe (when you can get fresh Ahi that is) that everyone who enjoys sushi and fresh fish should master.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I reviewed this recipe some time ago, but I have tried a variation that is interesting and would like to share it. Rather than use the white wine vinegar, I used a larger quantity of sake that was past its prime for drinking, then simmered it long enough to reduce it appropriately. I had saved it for possible cooking, and gave it a try last night. I recommend the change. As before, I strongly recommend using sashimi grade tuna and then searing it very briefly. I use a cast iron skillet at high heat, first popping some whole black peppercorns in the oil and then adding the tuna just long enough to sear it. It's sashimi-grade tuna that I normally use for sushi, so I want to make sure that the inside is still cold--certainly not "slightly pink" or grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love tuna, it is my favorite so I was very happy to find this recipe. I made this last night and was very impressed with the flavoring. It didn't look like the picture as I basically seared mine for about 40 secs per side, preferring it rare. I omitted the cilantro as I don't like cilantro and I added sesame seeds to the fillets before searing them. This was big hit in my house and I am so excited to make it again. Making the sauce was a little timely but well worth it! I think I will make double the sauce next time and save the leftovers for future use. Thank you Darla for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra
Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
As others have mentioned, this took more than than given to prepare but it was so delicious, I've no complaints! It was delicious! Next time I make it I will use a little less cilantro & reduce at a higher heat to minimize prep time. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States