Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Great recipe but my steaks dont look like the pic. I prefer more of a med rare steak myself. Thanks for the recipe it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Served this as an appy for our Father's Day celebration. For our tastes, the sauce needed a bit more wasabi, but it was still very good. If you've never made tuna before, please don't go by the photo of this recipe. If you're tuna looks like that, it's way overcooked and will be extremely dry. It'll make good tuna salad, but cooked properly, it should be nice and pink in the center. We cooked these on the grill for about one minute on each side and even the peeps who had never experienced real tuna before became instant fans. Thanks so much Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was so wonderful. I am not sure how long it should take to reduce the wine/shallot/vinegar mixture, but after 30 minutes it had reduced to less then half. I used 2 Tbsp of the mixture and saved the rest (about 1/2 cup) to use for another time. It still tasted wonderful and I also only used 1/2 cup of butter and it was plenty. This will be a go to for special occasions. I served this with a white rice - scallion - shelled edamame mix and that went really well with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Really good recipe, the butter sauce is a nice change from soy for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was great I added extra wasbi and added too much. but it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
We LOVED your recipe! It was so good. The tuna was perfect and the sauce was to die for! I'll probably add a little more wasabi next time, as we like a lot of heat. It is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
OMG!! This is SOOO good! The sauce makes the dish, that's for sure. Perfect amount of tang for us. Next time I will add a little more wasabi to the sauce. I could have used a little more kick. But we absolutely loved this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Excellent flavor that doesn't overwhelm the tuna. It's also easy and doesn't take very long to pull together. I had to substitute rice wine and red wine vinegar for the listed ingredients (that's what I had on hand) and did cut the butter in half - that was plenty, but otherwise followed the recipe and was very pleased with the results. Will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I am a personal chef my trade and believe in the good advice from my teachers and employer: when you have the most fresh and top quality ingredients you don't need lots of marinades and sauces to cover. I used Ahi tuna steaks, lightly salted and peppered then rubbed with olive oil, before grilling a few couple of minutes each side for rare then served the wasabi butter on the side. It was fantasik. Even my employer's wife who does not care for fish or wasabi commented on the fresh, clean taste in combination with the succulent steaks. I served it with a peppery watercress salad and sliced tomatoes. Definitely added this to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefofthevalley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Terrific recipe. Took other posters' advice, cut the butter and upped the wasabi. The end result was plate-lickingly good. Many thanks for the recipe - it's already been requested again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States