Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Wow!!! Use only 1/2 cup of butter & add another 1/2 tbsp of wasabi. Wow!! The yellowfin tuna I put the sauce on was delicious! The steamed broccoli that got the sauce on it was amazing! The garlic bread that I used to wipe every remaining drop of the sauce off my plate was scrumptious! This is the first time i've been compelled to write a review on any of the recipes i've used from allrecipes, and my wife and I were discussing what other dishes this sauce would be good on. A tablespoon in a Guacamole, Shrimp over Spaghetti, Scallops, Chicken, we came up with about a dozen before we finished the meal. I read all of the reviews, because the recipe was different enough to see how everyone customized it to their liking. Increasing the Wasabi & reducing the butter was the common recommendation, and is also what I did. It took about 25 min to reduce the wine/vineger/shallot mixture, and I was concerned that the very small amount of remaining liquid wouldn't be enough. On top of that, it didn't smell very good while the shallots were simmering. But using only 1/2 cup of butter, it made enough sauce for 6 palm sized tuna steaks. This one's a keeper, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S A N T I A G O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
this recipe is rediculously good. made it exactly as is and my 7 year old ate as much as my husband and I and that was a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Great meal!! I used some of the suggestions and used half butter. it turned out great even though I forgot to add the soy and wasabi until the end. Will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
All I can say is WOW! This was awesome! I have never had tuna that didn't come out of a can. My hubby is not a fish person, but we decided to give it a try. I love Wasabi so I figured it was worth at least trying. This is now my all time favorite dish and my husband is not only eating fish, he is experimenting with different types of fish. Something he would have never done before this recipe. I followed the advice on the review board about cutting the butter in half. I think this was a fantastic idea as I think it makes the sauce more intensely flavored. We have had this a number of times already. Also, as the review board stated, be very careful not to let the wasibi butter sauce boil as the butter is emulisifing. I did this once, by accident, and it made a big difference in the quality of the sauce and not for the better. I have also used this sauce on lobster and it was fantastic. I just love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This wasabi-butter sauce is delicious! I have made this dish several times and it is equally as mouth watering with mahi mahi. I like to add a little extra wasabi for a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
One word: AMAZING! The sauce is incredible! We used chardonnay and it worked great. The only change we made was to sear the tuna on high for 1 minute on each side because we like our tuna rare. We paired the tuna with some asparagus sauteed in olive oil with chopped garlic and wasabi mashed potatoes. It was the best dinner we've had in a long time! Perfect recipe for when you want to impress your guests. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good recipe. I love seared tuna. I like mine rare and this works well for that. If I'm in a hurry, I just use a tube of Wasabi paste and not make the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Sorry, but this one didn't WOW me... I really wanted more wasabi flavor in the sauce... maybe I should have added some after the sauce was finished so the heat wouldn't cook off. I used a high-quality Penzey's wasabi powder and mixed it up fresh. It wasn't bad, I just was hoping for more flavor, since I love wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
What you want here is the sauce, as it's more delectably remarkable and delicious beyond any I have EVER encountered!! Use yellowfin or ahi/sushi grade tuna, thickly sliced. If you don't marinate it, at least cover it with olive oil then coat generously with black/white sesame seeds which have been combined with chopped fresh herbs such as Italian parsley, cilantro, basil, etc., whatever you may have on hand. Place the fish on wax paper and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Heat olive oil in a heavy skillet, and quickly sear the tuna on both sides (1.5 minutes), do not let the tuna cook or you destroy the true flavor (it's like eating the finest rare beef steak, you can't tell the difference). Served with the butter and wild rice/lemon pilaf or greens, it's total heaven! And all I do with the refrigerated leftover sauce and to cook another tuna meal is let the butter get to room temperature, scoop an amount on a plate, and set the hot fish upon it. Unless you reheat the butter VERY carefully and slowly, it will separate such as in a clarification process, changing its flavor and quality. This is absolutely my favorite meal!!!! TEN stars on the sauce, and wasabi away to your tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I just have to say this sauce is absolutely amazing. I used a chardonnay and it turned out wonderful! I gotta tell you, also, I am not a huge tuna fan but was looking for a good wasabi sauce that seemed similar to one I found in a restaurant with scallops. So I made this and used lots of large sea scallops in place of the tuna and it worked so well with it! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States