Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
The wasabi butter sauce is great and can be served with any fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I tried making this today and it was absolutely divine! I had really chunky tuna steaks though so I cooked them for longer until the outside was crispy but there was still a thin pink line in the middle. The sauce was really, really good, but I added more wasabi to taste. I replaced cilantro with lemon thyme as well which worked out wonderfully and added a nice zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Wow. Really yummy sauce. Things I did differently were... I used only 1 stick of butter and substituted onions for the shallots because I didn't have any shallots. I also used white vinegar Instead of white wine vinegar. Didn't have any wasabi powder/paste so I used the wasabi that we had last night with our sushi. Not sure if that is the same thing but it all worked out in the end. I didn't add the soy until the very end because I only had salted butter and I was afraid it was going to be too salty. Turns out it wasn't so I added the soy at the very end. Did Not use the fresh cilantro because almost everyone in my family hates cilantro except for ME. I think the cilantro would add another wonderful dimension. ALL in ALL this sauce is wonderful. I literally could have drank it. It did turn out a bit thin, not sure why but it didn't matter. It was delicious. I would absolutely make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This sauce is not only good with tuna but is wonderful with filet! We have impressed guests with this sauce several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Maybe it was the wasabi I used; it had no wasabi flavor. The other flavors were good but not what I expected. I will try again with a different wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was a great recipe, especially the sauce! Thanks to the reviewers about cutting back on the butter - totally right, and cooking for less time is a must also! My tuna was served on top of a Greek salad and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Excellent recipe. As others suggested, I cut the butter in half, increased the wasabi, and crusted the fish with sesame seeds before cooking. Be sure to use very high grade tuna. Who needs to pay exorbitant restaurant prices when you now have this recipe? Many thanks, Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Awesome!! This is by far the best recipe I've made so far from this site. Sauce took quite a while, but definitely worth every minute - it makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is the best butter sauce in the world. If you don't have cilantro you can leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States