Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by partyofsixseattle
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Best seared ahi recipe I've used to date! I dipped the top and bottom of each medallion in sesame oil, then coated in white and black sesame seeds. I seared each side about 1.5 - 2 min. For the sauce, I used 1/2 cup butter and 2 TB of wasabi. Absolutely perfect! Plated it with wild rice so I had a good excuse to eat every last drop of the sauce! Was able to reheat some leftover sauce the next day in the microwave by putting it on 30% power for 30 second increments and whisking gently in between until it was warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by partyofsixseattle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Excellent, tasty perfect sauce for tuna!! Moist and yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
**Simmer it with the Soy Sauce and Wasabi.. it makes a huge difference on the flavor scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
this was delicious, gourmet dining quality, very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is absolutely heavenly. Beyond and above any world class Michelin reviews. The wasabi/ cilantro/ butter/soy sauce with reduced wine/vinegar/shallot essence is so very awesome! I sometimes replace wasabi with horse radish to give it a milder "kick". The secret truly is in the tuna itself: The more rare, the better. I encrusted the tuna with multi colored coarsely ground peppers. and put it on the hottest skillet to SEAR no more than one minute on each side. If you want the inside really really rare like sashimi, simply refrigerate the tuna steaks at around 35 degrees before transferring them to the HOTTEST skillet. Um Um, Sinfully Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
SO. GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This sauce is dangerously delicious. Now that I've made it, I want to put it on everything - scrambled eggs, french fries...come on, there have got to be more things I can put this on. We used horseradish instead of wasabi, and it worked like a charm. It's amazing how the flavor doesn't overpower everything. I wasn't sold on the addition of the cilantro leaves, but it worked out ok. I might even consider leaving the shallots in the reduction next time, as they could give an interesting texture complement to the cilantro...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is probably the best recipe on the internet. Beginners, don't be afraid to try this... just follow the sauce instructions to the letter. Like the other reviewers, I cut the butter in half and doubled the wasabi. Absolutely OMG delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Fool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chappell Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have been a sushi lover for a very long time and the flavor of this recipe subdues that pallet with a song of deliciousness. This is a special occasion recipe (when you can get fresh Ahi that is) that everyone who enjoys sushi and fresh fish should master.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I reviewed this recipe some time ago, but I have tried a variation that is interesting and would like to share it. Rather than use the white wine vinegar, I used a larger quantity of sake that was past its prime for drinking, then simmered it long enough to reduce it appropriately. I had saved it for possible cooking, and gave it a try last night. I recommend the change. As before, I strongly recommend using sashimi grade tuna and then searing it very briefly. I use a cast iron skillet at high heat, first popping some whole black peppercorns in the oil and then adding the tuna just long enough to sear it. It's sashimi-grade tuna that I normally use for sushi, so I want to make sure that the inside is still cold--certainly not "slightly pink" or grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States