Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I am a personal chef my trade and believe in the good advice from my teachers and employer: when you have the most fresh and top quality ingredients you don't need lots of marinades and sauces to cover. I used Ahi tuna steaks, lightly salted and peppered then rubbed with olive oil, before grilling a few couple of minutes each side for rare then served the wasabi butter on the side. It was fantasik. Even my employer's wife who does not care for fish or wasabi commented on the fresh, clean taste in combination with the succulent steaks. I served it with a peppery watercress salad and sliced tomatoes. Definitely added this to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefofthevalley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Terrific recipe. Took other posters' advice, cut the butter and upped the wasabi. The end result was plate-lickingly good. Many thanks for the recipe - it's already been requested again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I had reviewed this a few years ago and have done it over and over and it is a favorite in my family! I have served it to guests and they loved it! I didn't change a thing and it is consistently great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This receipe is amazing! It seems complicated but it really isn't too bad. The flavor is spectacular. We made this for Valentine's Day and it was far better than anything we could have eaten at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this tonight and both my husband and I loved it. I followed other posts and cut the butter in half (only used about 6 tbls.) and used 2 tbs. of soy sauce. I also used a sweet white wine and the wine vinegar. I used dried cilantro, but only about 1 tsp. I served this over briefly stir fried bok choy and shitake mushrooms. I seared the tuna over high heat to a slight light pink in the center as I did not have maguro tuna, only yellowfin, which tastes a little more fatty to me. The sauce is exactly the same as that which is served a a very popular local restaurant with salmon crusted with panko bread crumbs. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
The sauce totally makes this dish. Like someone else said, the wasabi taste is definitely there, but it's not hot. I left out the cilantro because we don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was really yummy, and I am not a fish fan at all (except for sushi). The only reason I didn't give is 5 stars was I did halve the butter as suggested, add garlic to the sauce, and I only cooked the tuna about 2 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just made this!! we loved it! I didn't have shallots, so I used a mixture of minced garlic and onion. I also reduced the amount of butter from 1 cup to 3 Tbs. I made enough sauce for 6 servings but only had 2 pieces of fish- used rest of sauce to marinate fish for 3 hours. Used the rest for dipping and also had some drizzled over some kale that I wilted in toasted sesame oil with pulverized toasted sesame seeds. This was the best dinner we have had in ages! My 2 yo even ate the fish. :o) Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Good...will reduce butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Loved it. have used it twice, second time cut the butter a bit and added more wasabi- great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States