Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good recipe. I love seared tuna. I like mine rare and this works well for that. If I'm in a hurry, I just use a tube of Wasabi paste and not make the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Sorry, but this one didn't WOW me... I really wanted more wasabi flavor in the sauce... maybe I should have added some after the sauce was finished so the heat wouldn't cook off. I used a high-quality Penzey's wasabi powder and mixed it up fresh. It wasn't bad, I just was hoping for more flavor, since I love wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
What you want here is the sauce, as it's more delectably remarkable and delicious beyond any I have EVER encountered!! Use yellowfin or ahi/sushi grade tuna, thickly sliced. If you don't marinate it, at least cover it with olive oil then coat generously with black/white sesame seeds which have been combined with chopped fresh herbs such as Italian parsley, cilantro, basil, etc., whatever you may have on hand. Place the fish on wax paper and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Heat olive oil in a heavy skillet, and quickly sear the tuna on both sides (1.5 minutes), do not let the tuna cook or you destroy the true flavor (it's like eating the finest rare beef steak, you can't tell the difference). Served with the butter and wild rice/lemon pilaf or greens, it's total heaven! And all I do with the refrigerated leftover sauce and to cook another tuna meal is let the butter get to room temperature, scoop an amount on a plate, and set the hot fish upon it. Unless you reheat the butter VERY carefully and slowly, it will separate such as in a clarification process, changing its flavor and quality. This is absolutely my favorite meal!!!! TEN stars on the sauce, and wasabi away to your tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I just have to say this sauce is absolutely amazing. I used a chardonnay and it turned out wonderful! I gotta tell you, also, I am not a huge tuna fan but was looking for a good wasabi sauce that seemed similar to one I found in a restaurant with scallops. So I made this and used lots of large sea scallops in place of the tuna and it worked so well with it! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Great recipe but my steaks dont look like the pic. I prefer more of a med rare steak myself. Thanks for the recipe it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Served this as an appy for our Father's Day celebration. For our tastes, the sauce needed a bit more wasabi, but it was still very good. If you've never made tuna before, please don't go by the photo of this recipe. If you're tuna looks like that, it's way overcooked and will be extremely dry. It'll make good tuna salad, but cooked properly, it should be nice and pink in the center. We cooked these on the grill for about one minute on each side and even the peeps who had never experienced real tuna before became instant fans. Thanks so much Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was so wonderful. I am not sure how long it should take to reduce the wine/shallot/vinegar mixture, but after 30 minutes it had reduced to less then half. I used 2 Tbsp of the mixture and saved the rest (about 1/2 cup) to use for another time. It still tasted wonderful and I also only used 1/2 cup of butter and it was plenty. This will be a go to for special occasions. I served this with a white rice - scallion - shelled edamame mix and that went really well with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Really good recipe, the butter sauce is a nice change from soy for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was great I added extra wasbi and added too much. but it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
We LOVED your recipe! It was so good. The tuna was perfect and the sauce was to die for! I'll probably add a little more wasabi next time, as we like a lot of heat. It is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States