Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is so simple and quick but so delicious! The mix of spices with the lemon juice creates amazing flavor. I added garlic because I love garlic in everything. The scallops cook best if they're not dry before the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Boy was this ever good. A most delicious meal! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Seasoning overpowered the taste of scallops. I will sticky to my pan fried scallops with lemon-butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My family loves seafood and thought we'd try this recipe for a new twist, and were very disappointed. I only used 3 teaspoons of lemon pepper and thought is was still too much. I also think maybe half on the other seasonings would be enough. I also tried the Parmesan cheese and thought that it made the scallops come out gummy. Overall, just too many flavors taking away from the natural goodness of the scallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
very bland. though the scallops we bought were not very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yes ! My wife and I loved it ! reduced the amount of Lemon Pepper, came out great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I am new to making scallops, but not new to this website. I trusted this to make a good dish with an expensive ingredient. I followed the recipe to a Tee, and they burned horribly -- and quickly. My whole kitchen is filled with black smoke. I am terribly disappointed. So upset that I don't think I will ever try to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe and the scallops turn out just fine if you sear them properly. I heat the olive oil on high heat with some minced garlic, but I reduce the temperature between medium and high when I add the scallops and turn them only once. I've also prepared this dish by adding a couple of tablespoons of Old Bay to the mix, rather than seasoning salt, which gives it a nice "seafood restaurant" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Perfect recipe. I didn't change a thing. These were easy to prepare and a croud pleaser. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was a really good dish! One very important step that isn't mentioned in the recipe is to pat dry the scallops with a paper towel before coating them with the flour mixture. Otherwise too much flour sticks to the scallops and ends up falling off in your oil when cooking. I did not have any lemon pepper so I used 1 tbsp white pepper and grated my lemon into the mixture before juicing it. The results were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States