Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My family loves seafood and thought we'd try this recipe for a new twist, and were very disappointed. I only used 3 teaspoons of lemon pepper and thought is was still too much. I also think maybe half on the other seasonings would be enough. I also tried the Parmesan cheese and thought that it made the scallops come out gummy. Overall, just too many flavors taking away from the natural goodness of the scallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
very bland. though the scallops we bought were not very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yes ! My wife and I loved it ! reduced the amount of Lemon Pepper, came out great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I am new to making scallops, but not new to this website. I trusted this to make a good dish with an expensive ingredient. I followed the recipe to a Tee, and they burned horribly -- and quickly. My whole kitchen is filled with black smoke. I am terribly disappointed. So upset that I don't think I will ever try to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe and the scallops turn out just fine if you sear them properly. I heat the olive oil on high heat with some minced garlic, but I reduce the temperature between medium and high when I add the scallops and turn them only once. I've also prepared this dish by adding a couple of tablespoons of Old Bay to the mix, rather than seasoning salt, which gives it a nice "seafood restaurant" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Perfect recipe. I didn't change a thing. These were easy to prepare and a croud pleaser. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was a really good dish! One very important step that isn't mentioned in the recipe is to pat dry the scallops with a paper towel before coating them with the flour mixture. Otherwise too much flour sticks to the scallops and ends up falling off in your oil when cooking. I did not have any lemon pepper so I used 1 tbsp white pepper and grated my lemon into the mixture before juicing it. The results were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Way too much lemon juice! Scallops have a sweet, delicate flavor and do not need to be masked by lemon juice. I liked the cooking method, but will use a different seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe was good, tweaked a bit. No flour, the scallops were so sweet and firm I didn't think flour was necessary. Half the salt and half the lemon pepper. I also pan seared them all, put on plate and made a sauce with the lemon juice and added some wine to de glaze the pan. Put them back in the pan for a minute and dinner was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Used this recipe last night and the scallops were DELICIOUS!!!! So simple a recipe yet so tasty. Will make again. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haven13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Middle Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States