Seared Scallops with Tropical Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by silkrdclrs
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Outstanding recipe. We served it on a bed of fresh greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I have fixed this recipe several times over the past year or so. We really enjoy it. I have prepared it exactly as written, and have also changed it up from time to time. This evening I made a variation that was probably our favorite so far. I didn't have scallops, so I used shrimp instead. I sautéd the shrimp in a little bit of olive oil and finished them off with a few sprinkles of balsamic vinegar. For the salsa, I replaced the red pepper with diced peppadew peppers. Holy cow! The peppadews add so much flavor...it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was excellent. For those that had a problem with the scallops, be sure to dry them well. So pat dry before cooking. Let them rest on a towel for about 10 minutes while you are prepping the salsa. Large Sea Scallops will take anywhere from 2+1/2 to 4 min. on the first side and 2 to 4 min. on the second side. Scallops should still be very soft in the middle and opaque and firm on the outside. Over-cooking them will make them tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Really good! Maybe a little cilantro but it was great the way it was too. We served it with a Asian Thai Cucumber salad and the combination was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Yum, so good - I just added some garlic and onions as well - which was perfect for us. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Richmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
The Mango Salsa was excellent. I seared the Scallops in a small amount of butter. It definitely took longer than 2 minutes per side. I did add extra lime juice and mango to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
So fresh & so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a good dinner with a tropical feel. I will use less Jalepno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Vicker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I would suggest adding mandarin oranges, a bit more jalapenos (to up the kick), chili powder and ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZoeY36918

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Sorry, this turned out bland and...just not very good to us. Not sure why. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States