Seared Scallops with Tropical Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent! It was just what I was looking for. The salsa is similar to one that I was trying to duplicate from a local restaurant and it was perfect! My only change was to add a tablespoon of honey because the fresh pineapple I had wasn't very sweet. Regarding the scallops - I always soak in milk while I prep the rest of my dinner. It helps remove any fishy taste. (Make sure they are dry when you put into the pan or they will splatter.) You need to heat a fry pan on high heat and sear the scallops for about 3-4 min per side depending on how rare you like your seafood. (2 min isn't enough for me.) By cooking on high heat, you get a golden almost caramelized exterior with a nice soft interior. I made jasmine rice and served with the scallops and a large spoonful of the salsa. My husband went back for seconds and even my picky kids liked it. A keeper for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Hubs and I frequent a lot of restaurants in Southwest Florida where dishes like this are routinely served. This is as good or better as we've had in any of them. I dredged the scallops lightly in flour before sauteeing them and backed off on the cilantro to about one tablespoon, which was plenty. I served this on plates garnished with a spicy remoulade sauce and a lemon garlic aioli alongside a basic, parsley rice. It was simply wonderful. Colorful, fresh and delicious. I'm looking forward to having the leftover salsa with crab cakes tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The tropical salsa was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was big hit! My husband does not really like scallops but he loved this dish. I also did not bread the scallops - just seared them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Living on an island, with access to some fresh, tasty seafood, I am always looking for new ways to prepare fish and shellfish. This tropical salsa recipe was AMAZING as is. I especially loved all the cilantro. It was a big hit with DH as well, and I'll be making this again soon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanteltbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Made this 2 weeks ago and it was a big hit. Didn't have the cucumber so I added some red onion for extra color/flavor. Only other change I made was to grill the scallops on my George Foreman grill - no oil or spray - good scallops don't need it! Came out perfect! Will try same recipe with some fresh shrimp tonight. This salsa is the greatest! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I loved this recipe, and it is perfect for summer. I did not have cilantro so I made the salsa without it and it still came out delicious. My husband and baby loved it, my 4 year old did not and I was surprised since he will eat shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I don't like Scallops, but I made this for a friend and she loved them. The salsa is very good. I will be using it for other items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is so good I have walked away from the table to review it. WOW~! I added a bit of powdered ginger, reduced the cilantro, and added fresh basil to the salsa. I served it over whole wheat couscous, with a tossed green salad. I better get back before my family eats it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
The salsa had a bit too much kick for me. Next time, I'll use just half a jalapeno. Still very tasty, though, and I'm planning to add little more of everything else to the leftovers to have with grilled tilapia. I read the other reviews so was prepared to cook the scallops longer than suggested or pre-bake. I opted to cook longer on the stove. I discover the prefer to grill scallops and will do that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States