Seared Scallops with Tropical Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This recipe looks very inviting & tastes great. I only had 2 issues with it. The first: the cilantro seemed to overpower the salsa. Keep in mind that I am not a cilantro fan but I still think that the hot peppers would have been sufficient. The second, sea scallops tend to be pretty thick & the cooking method overcooked the outside while not cooking the inside well enough for me. Next time, I will skip the cilantro alltogether & bake the scallops for a few minutes before pan frying the outside. All in all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used the little bay scallops because I was topping a salad w/ this recipe. I made the salsa as the recipe states, except for adding just a tbp or so of mango vinegar ( a recipe from foodnetwork) but I made a few changes w/ the scallops. I used olive oil w/ just a bit of butter to saute them in but first I added big slivers of garlic & let them cook for a few minutes to infuse the oil. Then I removed the garlic & added the bay scallops. I hit the scallops w/ Old Bay & chopped basil while cooking & then sprinkled them w/ lemon juice after I removed them from the pan. I plated a bed of romaine, drizzled it w/ the mango vinegar, added quite a bit of the salsa & topped it w/ the scallops, adding a few sliced cukes for interest. Hubby was very skeptical of this salad but had to concede that the flavor combo was superb. *rubbing my fingers on my chest in an arrogant fashion* LOL But next time he wants me to add a bit of mayo to the mango vinegar to make it more of a substantial dressing....I will for his, I thought mine was just perfect! Served this w/ a glass of white zin & for dessert, cherry limeade sorbet, drizzled w/ homemade cherry vodka & topped w/ a couple of frosted grapes. What a wonderful, light & healthy meal for a hot, summer evening...thansk for your contribution Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Absolutely delicious. We served this with rice. I added mandarin oranges, lemon juice, canned pineapple and a bit of the juice from the pineapples to make the salsa. I also used a green pepper and thinly sliced green onions in the salsa. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Wow...this was an AMAZING dish! The only thing that I would maybe do a little different would be to add a little less cilantro. (I personally don't care for the taste of it) Other than that, the salsa truly was very impressive looking and tasted really great on the scallops. Very cool if you are looking for a recipe for a dinner party or a romantic dinner for two! Definitely a keeper!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Hubs and I frequent a lot of restaurants in Southwest Florida where dishes like this are routinely served. This is as good or better as we've had in any of them. I dredged the scallops lightly in flour before sauteeing them and backed off on the cilantro to about one tablespoon, which was plenty. I served this on plates garnished with a spicy remoulade sauce and a lemon garlic aioli alongside a basic, parsley rice. It was simply wonderful. Colorful, fresh and delicious. I'm looking forward to having the leftover salsa with crab cakes tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Family wasn't too sure about this dish when they first saw it but thoroughly enjoyed it. I served it with rice and doubled the amount of salsa and it was all eaten. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
The salsa was really good. The scallops needed to be cooked longer than 2 minutes on each side, but I used an indoor grill set at about 390 degrees. It was more like 6-8 minutes on each side. The scallops were large ones from Sams club. I thought they tasted kinda bland ...could have used a little more seasoning for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I made the salsa for some fish tacos. It is so yummy!! I have some scallops in the freezer and will have to try the rest of the recipe. The salsa is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I would suggest adding mandarin oranges, a bit more jalapenos (to up the kick), chili powder and ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZoeY36918

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent! It was just what I was looking for. The salsa is similar to one that I was trying to duplicate from a local restaurant and it was perfect! My only change was to add a tablespoon of honey because the fresh pineapple I had wasn't very sweet. Regarding the scallops - I always soak in milk while I prep the rest of my dinner. It helps remove any fishy taste. (Make sure they are dry when you put into the pan or they will splatter.) You need to heat a fry pan on high heat and sear the scallops for about 3-4 min per side depending on how rare you like your seafood. (2 min isn't enough for me.) By cooking on high heat, you get a golden almost caramelized exterior with a nice soft interior. I made jasmine rice and served with the scallops and a large spoonful of the salsa. My husband went back for seconds and even my picky kids liked it. A keeper for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States