Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. I made it for my family and they loved it! the one thing I would change is the breading because it wouldn't stay on, it fell off in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The flavors in the salsa just didn't seem to balance. It was an interesting idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe. We followed the advice of others and didn't flour the scallops. We served it with a mix of rice and bacon. Would definitely use this recipe for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is for the salsa only. I made shrimp with it instead. We loved the salsa and just tweaked it a bit to our taste and what I had. I added a whole jalepeno, and used lemon juice instead. I used my food processor to finely chop the peppers and onion. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
FANTASTIC. Substituted the jalapeno with a habanero to give it more kick and served over rice. Kept extra sauce for salsa and/or fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! I also didn't put the flour or pepper on the scallops before cooking and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was great. I hate to take a recipe and change it, but I just took it a step further. I had an extra jalapeno so I cut it into small slivers, coated it in some sesame oil and used the flour mixture and pan fried them. I served the scallops on a bed of instant potatoes (which I mixed in some of the papaya salsa) laid the pan seared scallops on top, dressed that with more salsa and topped each scallop with one fried jalapeno. We liked the flavor so much, I made it twice this week. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I used this recipe for the papaya sauce only as I do not like scallops. The sauce makes a lot, so we varied our dishes for it. Served over Tuna steaks (not bad), rolled in a tortilla with baked cod for a fish taco (pretty good) and ate as a dip with pita chips. I did refrigerate it for a couple hours to help the flavors blend, and it was better the next day. Doesn't keep long though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Definitely a keeper~the papaya sauce is not only delicious but very colorful. A great compliment for the pan seared scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very good. I made a double batch...but used 2 whole jalepenos. I did not flour scallops either. I seared in olive oil that I had flavored with lots of garlic, pepper and lemon pepper. Pureeed salsa was wonderful the next day over veggie omlettes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States