Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
I made this for my husband's birthday also! Even though my husband is not a big seafood eater, he loved this dish as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I made this for my husband for a Valentine's Day and he still talks about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
My fiance and I made this for Valentine's Day and it was delicious ! We actually pureed the sauce in a food processor and served it on the side. We also decreased the amount of salt just a bit . Overall , a very easy and yummy recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
This recipe was ok. I made it last night for Valentine's day dinner and I expected a lot more given the reviews. The "salsa" was excellent, but the sea scallops were a little bland and got cold too fast on top of the cold salsa mixture. The two just didn't go together that well and reminded me of some dishes I get in trendier restaurants that just don't turn out to be that good because someone was trying to be a little too creative. I don't think I would ever flour scallops again. I'd rather just pan fry them in some flavored oil. Part of the problem may have been that I did use the large sea scallops (which I was told have better flavor) rather than the small bay scallops. In my opinion, scallops just don't have much flavor in any form. I prefer Chinese scallop dishes a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
This meal was absolutely delicious. The only thing we did different was lightly simmer the papaya sauce for about (5) minutes to make it blend together. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I made this for Valentines Day and it was a little tricky but a good change of pace for a special evening. Adrienne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This dish was delicious, quick and easy to make. However, it is not really a 'sauce', but a papaya salsa. I also agree with another reviewer in that there is no need to flour the scallops. They are better with just a pinch of salt and seared over high heat for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This is a great recipe if you are having guests over for dinner. Easy to make, impressive to serve. I split the sauce in half -- the first half I kept as a finely diced salsa, the second half I pureed in a blender to make more of a sauce. I presented the scallops by first making a small pool of sauce, layering the scallops on top, and then finally garnishing the scallops with the salsa. It looked nice and added some nice flavor to the scallops (which I choose not to coat with flour before frying).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I mixed this with chilean sea bass cut into small chunks. Everyone loved it. I can't believe how simple this was and how amazing it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I loved this recipe, all of the flavors mixed really well. Next time, though, I will skip flouring the scallops and just fry them in a nonstick pan for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States