Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is delicious! I used bay scallops this time and will try the big ones next time, as they will probably stay together better. The sauce was very tasty. On the suggestions of other reviewers, we paired this with Goldy's Special Salad and it was a beautiful, delicious, nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I was very excited to make this recipe after reading all of the reviews, but I was a tad disappointed with it. It was an easy recipe, but really didn't have a lot of flavor. The onions are very overpowering, even after cutting the amount in half, and there was no "spice" at all - I even put in a full jalepeno pepper rather than the 1 tsp it called for. I also think mango would be a better choice than the papaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I do not like scallops, but made this for my husband for valentines day, because he loves them. I have a new love for scallops because of this recipe. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Scallops where really good. I didnt have red pepper and used diced avacado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Delicious! I made this for the first time when company came over and it was a big hit!! I followed others suggestions and did not flour the scallops, simply put salt and a little pepper in a ziploc bag and shook them to coat. I also served over Goldy's Special Salad and it was YUMMY!!! I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Like others, I skipped flouring the scallops and just seared them over medium-high heat for 2-3 minutes per side. Also, as others suggested, I made half of the papaya mix into a salsa, and I pureed the other half into a sauce. This recipe makes LOADS of the papaya sauce, so even if you halve it, you will have plenty to work with. We really enjoyed this with Goldy's Special Salad (found on allrecipes.com).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
My husband first cooked this for me on Valentines day, and we both were so impressed with the presentation and flavor. The vivid colors of papaya and red pepper make this dish so pretty. The onion is a bit too strong, might skip it next time. A lot of chopping for this dish, but quite worth it. Think we'll serve it again for next dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Loved this recipe!! The mixture of flavors was truly outstanding. Reminds me of a dish one would eat on vacation in Cancun. The only thing I would change is I wouldn't put as much onion in it as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe, especially the sauce. I blended it up in my food processor to make it more like a salsa and that worked great for us. My husband has been using the leftovers in burritos, and thinks it is a great salsa flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was okay. I chose to flour and fry the scallops, if I make this again, I won't. I also used the smaller sea scallops, and I think it would of been better if I had used larger ones. I also took the salsa and pureed and heated it up, that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States