Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very good. I made a double batch...but used 2 whole jalepenos. I did not flour scallops either. I seared in olive oil that I had flavored with lots of garlic, pepper and lemon pepper. Pureeed salsa was wonderful the next day over veggie omlettes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was really really good! I didn't flour the scallops, i don't understand why you would do that to them. I pureed half and kept half as salsa. They were both really good, although I think we preferred the salsa better, so next time maybe I will puree a quarter of it and keep the other 3/4 as salsa. The flavours and the colours were both fantastic! I also served it with Goldys special salad. Perfect!!! Next time maybe I'll add a little bulgur... Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I took the advice of the most helpful reviewer. the flavor was very good. i liked the consistency of the salsa better than the puree. i would leave it as salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Just made this for a valentine's treat... Presents extremely well with lots of color. I didn't flour the scallops and simmered 1/2 of the salsa to make a sauce as previous cooks have mentioned. Definitely recommend doing both. The cooked salsa does really brings the whole dish together. I made this with the Gourmet Mushroom Risotto (also on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I added tomato and green pepper because I had it in the hamper. I tossed this with cooked and cooled shrimp for a lovely side dish at a recent party we were invited to. Everybody loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I might experiment with this. I thought there was WAY too much red onion....to the point of overpowering much else. Next time I would cut the onion back to no more than 1/4 to 1/3 cup. (Maybe we just have really big red onions here in Florida?? lol) This was not the least bit spicy to me either. I prepared the scallops with the flour and thought they were very good. I used the big scallops (ten dollars a pound).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Real nice recipe. I skipped the flour and changed the papaya to pineapple. It gave it a real nice and light taste. Wasn't that spicy and I added a whole jalapeno. I served it with uncle bens wild rice, which was a good compliment. Defenitly makes a lot of sauce...as others...i would recomend keeping half as a salsa. Which is great on salads or or even burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Restaurant quality entree. I skipped coating the scallops with flour, which resulted in a much paler colored meat. The salsa was awesome, I used mango instead. Had plenty left over for another meal. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The spicy Papaya "Sauce" also makes a great salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I loved this recipe for how easy it was to make. I kept the salsa at room temp so it wouldn't "cool" the scallops too fast. I followed the suggestion of not using "flour" for the scallops.. I bought the big, Japanese jumbo scallops. Careful not to overcook.. they were sweet and a perfect combo with the salsa. To spice it up I changed the pepper to habanero, used regular sweet yellow onions (Walla Walla). I made some rice cooked in coconut milk.. and voila!! It even looked pretty on the plate! Great choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa's Mommy
Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States