Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very good. I made a double batch...but used 2 whole jalepenos. I did not flour scallops either. I seared in olive oil that I had flavored with lots of garlic, pepper and lemon pepper. Pureeed salsa was wonderful the next day over veggie omlettes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was really really good! I didn't flour the scallops, i don't understand why you would do that to them. I pureed half and kept half as salsa. They were both really good, although I think we preferred the salsa better, so next time maybe I will puree a quarter of it and keep the other 3/4 as salsa. The flavours and the colours were both fantastic! I also served it with Goldys special salad. Perfect!!! Next time maybe I'll add a little bulgur... Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I took the advice of the most helpful reviewer. the flavor was very good. i liked the consistency of the salsa better than the puree. i would leave it as salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Just made this for a valentine's treat... Presents extremely well with lots of color. I didn't flour the scallops and simmered 1/2 of the salsa to make a sauce as previous cooks have mentioned. Definitely recommend doing both. The cooked salsa does really brings the whole dish together. I made this with the Gourmet Mushroom Risotto (also on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I added tomato and green pepper because I had it in the hamper. I tossed this with cooked and cooled shrimp for a lovely side dish at a recent party we were invited to. Everybody loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I might experiment with this. I thought there was WAY too much red onion....to the point of overpowering much else. Next time I would cut the onion back to no more than 1/4 to 1/3 cup. (Maybe we just have really big red onions here in Florida?? lol) This was not the least bit spicy to me either. I prepared the scallops with the flour and thought they were very good. I used the big scallops (ten dollars a pound).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Real nice recipe. I skipped the flour and changed the papaya to pineapple. It gave it a real nice and light taste. Wasn't that spicy and I added a whole jalapeno. I served it with uncle bens wild rice, which was a good compliment. Defenitly makes a lot of sauce...as others...i would recomend keeping half as a salsa. Which is great on salads or or even burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Restaurant quality entree. I skipped coating the scallops with flour, which resulted in a much paler colored meat. The salsa was awesome, I used mango instead. Had plenty left over for another meal. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The spicy Papaya "Sauce" also makes a great salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I loved this recipe for how easy it was to make. I kept the salsa at room temp so it wouldn't "cool" the scallops too fast. I followed the suggestion of not using "flour" for the scallops.. I bought the big, Japanese jumbo scallops. Careful not to overcook.. they were sweet and a perfect combo with the salsa. To spice it up I changed the pepper to habanero, used regular sweet yellow onions (Walla Walla). I made some rice cooked in coconut milk.. and voila!! It even looked pretty on the plate! Great choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa's Mommy
Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States