Seared Scallops with Pineapple, Ginger and Lemon Grass Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
OMG! SOOO Good. Eveything about this recipe is deliciousl Tried not to alter but had to use what was on hand. Asparagus instead of beans, Canned crushed pineapple (still really good). No lemongrass or vinegar, so we used cooking sherry and lemon juice. And I skipped the oil all together for health reasons. Used PAM high heat grilling spray on the frying pan and still got a nice sear. Added a little extra heat and it was wonderful!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
SO delicious! I doubled the recipe and it was perfect for dinner for two. No changes necessary, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
this was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I cut the olive oil in half and added cajun seasoning to the scallops. The salsa was great but next time I'll do waaaaay more of it and use lemon juice/zest instead of lemon grass. Lemon grass just isn't meant to be eaten, there were little strands of it that weren't so appealing. Great recipe overall, will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I don't eat seafood, I am however learning how to cook it for my husband. Thanks to the clear and well written recipe I served a dish to my husband that looked and tasted like a professional chef had made it.I had fresh snow peas so I used them instead of beans that is the only change I made. My husband said my scallops were perfectly cooked and the pineapple salsa was a perfect match. He was completely satisfied. I liked the salsa very much as well it lent it self well to my chicken. Thank you so much for helping learn how to cook seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Cook scallops approx 2 min on first side and 3 min 2nd side with salt and pepper. doubled the salsa but did not need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khalainCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Yum! I always use bay scallops but, made an exception for this and did buy the sea scallops. The salsa was wonderful on them! Don't see a need for the beans though they were good. Will leave them out next time. Served with tri color couscous and even my husband loved dinner. Thanks for a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I don't eat scallops, but I wanted to report that my husband who is picky about his seafood and loves scallops, LOVED this! Will be making this many times over, I'm sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gibson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
The salsa was five stars, but the scallops and the green beans were only three. I was worried that the salsa would not come together at first, but after 30 minutes in the fridge it was very good. Less oil would have been much better, though, since I think the honey and cider are enough liquid to bring the ingredients together. I cooked only one scallop by this method, and it came out dark brown which I think was the intention. It also smoked up my whole apartment, so I cooked the remaining scallops over low heat. The green beans were nothing special, just steamed green beans. I think I will try tossing some garlic in with them on the last saute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Wonderful flavors that meld together for a mouth watering dinner. I would add a little more red pepper flakes. Otherwise, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States