Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a keeper! One of the best recipes I have made in a long, long time. Perfect as is - no changes are needed at all. Make sure your scallops are really dry - season them well and into a screaming hot pan. Don't move them until you flip them. You want to get them good and crispy on the outside. So delicious! Try them - you won't regret making this recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was sooooo yummy! I made the mistake of underestimating the heat of the jalapeno that I used, so I didn't use enough. I also cooked the scallops a little longer than what was recommended (family requirements---not me). This is very delicious and will be made numerous times in this household! Thanks once again, Chef John! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe....but i experimented with the vinegar. I did one sauce with the rice vinegar per rec. I did another sauce with Trader Joe's Orange muscat champagne vinegar. The Orange muscat vinegar won hands down. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I think I just died and went to heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe Chef John!!! I added 1 clove of garlic, red onion about a tsp., a shake of dried basil, black pepper and a tsp. of agave sweetener. The direction for cooking them was perfect. I used unsalted butter and olive oil in the pan. This vinaigrette would also be good on a salad. This is why I love Allrecipes, you get so many wonderful ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is EXCELLENT! I made it for a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. I would like to marry this man, but I'm already married...too bad what a chef he is!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were great, so easy to make and so flavorful! I used extra black pepper instead of cayenne. Followed the directions for cooking exactly and the scallops were cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Absolutely simple and very delicious! Served it with fregola sarda with a lemon, basil, mint viniagrette which matched up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Following the recipe exactly provided us with a delightful dinner! The vinaigrette was a delicious companion to the delicate scallops and oranges. This recipe perfectly illustrates why John is a chef and I am a cook: I simply carried out what the chef designed. I would never have thought of this combination of flavors, but I am certainly glad he did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I am so excited about the outcome of this recipe. Fantastic. The flavors explode in your mouth. I live on the shore so I was lucky enough to get scallops fresh off the boat! Make sure you dry your scallops before seasoning. Also don't season ahead of time as the scallops will dry out. Season right before the scallops hit the hot pan. I did strain the vinaigrette. Excellent! Thank You Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McInerney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States