Seared Salmon with Indian-Inspired Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The flavours in this dish went together wonderfully - I was scared that with so many ingredients in the sauce it would be a little overwhelming, but everything was very balanced. My only suggested variation (which I found very successful) is to set aside half the sauce once finished, then puree the other half in a blender, then combine the two back together. Gives a little more of a variated texture. All in all, an excellent dish I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
absolutely delicious, I would change a few things though: 1. perhaps half the sauce because it makes a lot or make it into chowder the next day! 2. couldn't find porchini mushrooms so we used regular mushrooms along with portabella which worked well. 3. use half and half or whole milk instead of heavy cream, you won't notice the big loss of fat :) 4. cut chicken broth and use as much chicken broth as cream to allow more thickening. overall awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This turned out good. It is not too spicy, and the sauce was also good on asparagus and potatoes. It does make a lot, so that's what I used the extra for. I used regular white button mushrooms instead of porcini, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This salmon was delicious! I also couldn't find porcini mushrooms, so I also used regualar ones, and it was still really good. I used fat-free half and half, too. The sauce turned out great, but I agreee that you could get away with about half as much, but you can save the extra and put it on just about anything-it's that good! this is a real restaurant quality meal, although it is a bit expensive (the salmon, saffron, special mushrooms). Great for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I served this over a mixed rice and it was simply amazing. Fairly quick and easy and very, very tasty. I can already tell this will become a favorite for us. I had to make a few minor changes based on what I had in the house. I didn't have celery so I put in some diced red bell pepper instead. As far as the fennel goes, I used every part of it - the bulb, stems, and fronds. Like other reviewers, I also added in much more curry powder, probably about 1 Tbs total. Also, I didn't have saffron so that was left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I halved the recipe and had lots! It was wonderful and will definitely serve again. Rave reviews from the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I was blown away. Made for a romantic dinner with my husband, and he loved this! As did I. I cut the recipe in half and we still have tons leftover, but I am glad! Thanks for the recipe, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was amazing!! I served over shrimp instead of salmon all over angel hair. Such a rich and unique taste. Way to change up dinner time. It was something I would imagine I could only get at a restaurant! Sooooo good and super impressive! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This recipe was amazing! It was super easy, and extremely tasty. The sauce was incredible! Next time, I will cook the vegetables down a little more so they are more tender. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I have done many great salmon recipes with different flavors. I made this one last night for a romantic dinner with my wife. This recipe has the taste of "Romance". Some recipes are good for whenever you are in the mood for them. But this one, in my opinion, is for those romantic nights. I halfed the recipe and used two Salmon portions, and there was plenty of sauce. I noticed nothing was mentioned about sides by the recipe, or by members who left reviews. I decide to do a side of medium white rice, and some baby carrots cooked with butter, salt, and pepper. The sauce was great with the rice. This is also a good recipe to share wine with. All in all, I loved this recipe. Oh, and some people had problems finding the porcini mushrooms. I did also, I think they may be seasonal. But I did find them at the grocery store in the produce section package in a dried form. All you have to do is soak them in boiling water for a few minutes, and they are good to go. hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States