Seared Salmon with Indian-Inspired Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
absolutely delicious, I would change a few things though: 1. perhaps half the sauce because it makes a lot or make it into chowder the next day! 2. couldn't find porchini mushrooms so we used regular mushrooms along with portabella which worked well. 3. use half and half or whole milk instead of heavy cream, you won't notice the big loss of fat :) 4. cut chicken broth and use as much chicken broth as cream to allow more thickening. overall awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I have done many great salmon recipes with different flavors. I made this one last night for a romantic dinner with my wife. This recipe has the taste of "Romance". Some recipes are good for whenever you are in the mood for them. But this one, in my opinion, is for those romantic nights. I halfed the recipe and used two Salmon portions, and there was plenty of sauce. I noticed nothing was mentioned about sides by the recipe, or by members who left reviews. I decide to do a side of medium white rice, and some baby carrots cooked with butter, salt, and pepper. The sauce was great with the rice. This is also a good recipe to share wine with. All in all, I loved this recipe. Oh, and some people had problems finding the porcini mushrooms. I did also, I think they may be seasonal. But I did find them at the grocery store in the produce section package in a dried form. All you have to do is soak them in boiling water for a few minutes, and they are good to go. hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Woah, this was good. I wish I'd left out the celery though - just didn't seem to go with the other flavors too well. Apart from upping the amount of curry powder (I used some pretty spicy Madras Curry powder) and adding some dried curry leaves, I made this pretty much as written. Turned out very rich and flavorful. It would work great with chicken and/or shrimp, I think. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I was blown away. Made for a romantic dinner with my husband, and he loved this! As did I. I cut the recipe in half and we still have tons leftover, but I am glad! Thanks for the recipe, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This recipe was amazing! It was super easy, and extremely tasty. The sauce was incredible! Next time, I will cook the vegetables down a little more so they are more tender. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Marie Haines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very good dinner. The saffron and curry combination in the sauce gave it a really delicate flavor and turned it a pretty yellow color. I roasted my salmon at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes, since I prefer roasted salmon to seared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this for my husband and friends and they RAVED about the taste! However, the sauce was quite watery so I'd recommend adding a little cornstarch to thicken it up. The following morning we thickened up the leftover sauce and added it to scrambled eggs. FABULOUS!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamlover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This turned out good. It is not too spicy, and the sauce was also good on asparagus and potatoes. It does make a lot, so that's what I used the extra for. I used regular white button mushrooms instead of porcini, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I halved the recipe and had lots! It was wonderful and will definitely serve again. Rave reviews from the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was amazing!! I served over shrimp instead of salmon all over angel hair. Such a rich and unique taste. Way to change up dinner time. It was something I would imagine I could only get at a restaurant! Sooooo good and super impressive! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States