Seared Salmon with Indian-Inspired Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
absolutely delicious, I would change a few things though: 1. perhaps half the sauce because it makes a lot or make it into chowder the next day! 2. couldn't find porchini mushrooms so we used regular mushrooms along with portabella which worked well. 3. use half and half or whole milk instead of heavy cream, you won't notice the big loss of fat :) 4. cut chicken broth and use as much chicken broth as cream to allow more thickening. overall awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The flavours in this dish went together wonderfully - I was scared that with so many ingredients in the sauce it would be a little overwhelming, but everything was very balanced. My only suggested variation (which I found very successful) is to set aside half the sauce once finished, then puree the other half in a blender, then combine the two back together. Gives a little more of a variated texture. All in all, an excellent dish I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I halved the recipe and had lots! It was wonderful and will definitely serve again. Rave reviews from the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This turned out good. It is not too spicy, and the sauce was also good on asparagus and potatoes. It does make a lot, so that's what I used the extra for. I used regular white button mushrooms instead of porcini, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This salmon was delicious! I also couldn't find porcini mushrooms, so I also used regualar ones, and it was still really good. I used fat-free half and half, too. The sauce turned out great, but I agreee that you could get away with about half as much, but you can save the extra and put it on just about anything-it's that good! this is a real restaurant quality meal, although it is a bit expensive (the salmon, saffron, special mushrooms). Great for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was an interesting mix of spices and vegetables. Very tasty however I did not taste the curry at all. I might add more next time. I added the chicken broth powder with the other spices and then I added only 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup of milk (to replace the cream). There was still plenty of sauce for the amount of portions it made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I was blown away. Made for a romantic dinner with my husband, and he loved this! As did I. I cut the recipe in half and we still have tons leftover, but I am glad! Thanks for the recipe, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Woah, this was good. I wish I'd left out the celery though - just didn't seem to go with the other flavors too well. Apart from upping the amount of curry powder (I used some pretty spicy Madras Curry powder) and adding some dried curry leaves, I made this pretty much as written. Turned out very rich and flavorful. It would work great with chicken and/or shrimp, I think. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I have done many great salmon recipes with different flavors. I made this one last night for a romantic dinner with my wife. This recipe has the taste of "Romance". Some recipes are good for whenever you are in the mood for them. But this one, in my opinion, is for those romantic nights. I halfed the recipe and used two Salmon portions, and there was plenty of sauce. I noticed nothing was mentioned about sides by the recipe, or by members who left reviews. I decide to do a side of medium white rice, and some baby carrots cooked with butter, salt, and pepper. The sauce was great with the rice. This is also a good recipe to share wine with. All in all, I loved this recipe. Oh, and some people had problems finding the porcini mushrooms. I did also, I think they may be seasonal. But I did find them at the grocery store in the produce section package in a dried form. All you have to do is soak them in boiling water for a few minutes, and they are good to go. hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good. I added a little lemon juice at the end to brighten it up a little. I also used half milk and half cream. I think I did end up needing to thicken the sauce a little with a cornstarch slurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States