Seared Ahi Tuna with Watercress, Chile, and Ginger Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Added the amounts for the olive oil, and included ginger in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
The flavor is there, but the directions were incomplete . . . missing steps for including the ginger, so I added it after the fact to the marinade, dressing & on the salad itself. There was no quantity listed for the olive oil, so I think my guess of 3/4 cup was too much. I will try it again because the tuna turned out really good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was SO good and SO easy! My husband loves seared tuna, and I've been looking for a raw watercress recipe, so this was the one for us. Everyone in the family liked it, even my 1 and 3 year old boys... I cooked my husband's rare, but liked that I could cook mine and the boys a little longer... easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
sooo good! tastes like the salad from a Thai restaurant. I would make this again with shrimp or chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe thank you Alex! I followed the recipe with few exceptions for personal preference. I omitted the sugar and used half olive oil and half sesame oil, and about 5 cloves of garlic. This recipe required very little tweaking to make me love it and my fiancé OFFERED to clean the kitchen afterwards! I have also made this recipe a second time using big mouth bass and grilling over a hot fire. This is a keeper. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Not a fan. I made the salad dressing exactly as described and drizzled over my own mix of greens with seared ahi. I love salads and am by no means a picky eater. I couldn't eat the salad. My husband gave it a 'B' though, stating the healthiness made up for the salad's lack of good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
WOW!!! Really, really enjoyed this one. I did it over a bed of spring mix. Wish I would have put a little more salad in my bowl. It was full on full of flavor and a very nice light meal. I used a jalapeño because that is what I had on hand. The only thing I will do different next time is to do the fish in my cast iron skillet because I didn't get a good seer using my heavy bottomed skillet. Make sure it is HOT!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Good dressing to start with for the tuna and the salad; however, adding soy sauce, wasabi paste really enhanced the flavor. Thanks Alex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great salad. Cooked to recipe. Wasn't sure about the watercress and cilantro salad but it isn't as overpowering as it sounds. Good Thai flavors, very limey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My husband made this recipe for me and it was by far the best seared tuna dish we've ever had ... if you went to a restaurant you'd pay $50 a person for this flavorful meal. In fact, we're making it again tonight for out date night out ... in. And the salad is just as good. We used a lot of ginger because we love the flavor. Highly recommend this to anyone who is a fish lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States