Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
First time I tried making Ahi Tuna at home and it was a hit! This is a very easy recipe with no exotic flavors. The peppercorns added a mild "smokiness" as best as I could tell. I served on a bed of spring lettuces with lemon quarters. I also added white wine to the pan after removing the tuna steaks and served the reduction. We all liked the tuna better without the reduction although 1 person used her lemon. (Doubled recipe and made 4 servings.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
this was great. Never sauteed peppercorns before, but it was really good! Simple and guest-worthy. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My husband and I loved this tuna! My husband gave it high praise, which is really saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I changed this up a bit. My taste buds were not satisfied with the seasonings in the recipe. I added oregano, dill, garlic, and thyme. I put it on top of white rice with veggies then mixed the seasonings in some extra olive oil and drizzled it over the finished product. I didn't slice it I left it as a full steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Cooked on grill in cast iron. Rare is too red for us. Cooked about 2 minutes 30 seconds on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Such an easy and delicious meal! I cooked the peppercorns for about 10 minutes in a covered cast iron skillet. My husband doesn't eat anything rare, so I cooked them for 2 minutes on both sides for medium. Served the ahi Tuna Steaks with quinoa and broccoli for an excellent meal in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coal City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Over cooked. Turns out 30 seconds is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronalda Rude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
We usually grill tuna, but it was so cold outside tonight that my husband used this recipe so he didn't have to go out! He light sprinkled salt on the tuna, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Oh my the tuna was wonderful! We will use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Very Good. I also reduced the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I also cooked the peppercorns a bit longer and my kitchen also filled with some smoke. I just finished eating my tuna and it was delicious. I ignored the amounts of salt and Cheyenne pepper in the recipe and I covered both sides of my steak with copious sea salt and Cheyenne pepper! Woowee! that was some delicious steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tate OKelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States