Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was nothing special. I had the same issue a lot of others had in that the peppercorns wouldn't pop- they just burnt. I had to open all of my windows and doors. Funny thing is, when I tossed them into the sink they landed in a bowl of cold water and then popped... I made a couple of dipping sauces for this tuna that really saved it. A hollandaise sauce and a soy sauce/brown sugar mixture. Both got rave reviews. While I'll be making this recipe again, I definitely wont be using peppercorns and I'll always make sure to have a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Phenomenal. Only change is to reduce the salt a bit. I had a very smoky house afterwards but it was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Wow! This was "plate-licking" delicious! I've never bought Ahi Tuna before, but because of this recipe I am definitely hooked. It's hard to believe something so easy is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent! Simple, tasty. I couldn't get the peppercorns to pop before the oil/butter started smoking, but it didn't affect the recipe. I've now included this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious!! Easy and amazing! I omitted the cayenne pepper due to serving it to kids. I tipped the pan so most of the peppercorns were on one side. I made the "grown up" pieces in the heavy pepper side and made the kids pieces light on pepper side and it was amazing for the whole family. I seared each piece 2 min on each side due to having really thick pieces. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trose
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Super yummy! I did not measure salt or cayenne, but just sprinkled it on each side. I also coated each side in sesame seeds before searing and used homemade dill butter instead of regular butter. I had a 1 inch think steak and cooked it two minutes each side. Definitely would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very simple and delicious! For those worried about the amount of salt, you have to remember the recipe calls for kosher salt. A teaspoon of kosher salt is much different than a teaspoon of table salt. Toss that nasty table salt away! You will taste the difference when you start using good salt. That said, if your tuna steak is thin, you should definitely use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Just loved this. Absolutely appreciate the recommendations to reduce the salt. I just used a light sprinkle. Cooked it 2 minutes per side as I wanted it more medium rare and it was perfect for our tastes. Also, served it with my own dipping sauce creation. I am adding the recipe for you to try if you like, named Ahi Tuna Dipping Sauce. Enjoy! We did and plan to serve to guests in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Laziness prevents marinading which brings me to this recipe. Was glad that this got so many favorable reviews which prompted me to try it. Luved that there were so few ingredients(and I had them on hand), but still was a delight with soy sauce and wasabi. So quick and easy. Followed the recipe except used soy oil not olive. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this tonight following the recipe exactly. Delicious! Made a sauce with wasabi powder and soy sauce which complemented it well. Thanks for the easiest recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States