Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe completely and loved it! I will definitely make this again. - Anita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was a great introduction for me to cooking Ahi Tuna. Easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
All I can say is HOLY COW. Amazingly wonderful recipe. Good tuna has always intimidated me, but no longer. I have impressed my boyfriend and several friends when I made this for them. TIP: If you have not sliced tuna before I would highly recommend finding a YouTube video to walk you through the process. Otherwise, a perfect, expensive piece of tuna, will be a tangled mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was delicious just the way it was originally written. This is going to be a regular in our family now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Orcutt Goossens
Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Thus turned out soooo good! My husband and 4 year old twins LOVED IT! Very easy to prepare and cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsmiles007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was delicious and super simple! I did read other reviews, and just pressed cracked pepper into the tuna before searing, and just sprinkled with salt...fastest meal I've ever put on the table, healthy and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I loved that this recipe was simple, yet tasty. I almost added garlic and I'm glad I didn't, because it wasn't necessary! I used extra virgin olive oil, which was a mistake (and admittedly not exactly what the recipe calls for; I presume the recipe's author meant light olive oil). Next time I will omit the butter and use an oil with a higher smoke point to prevent smoke in the house and potentially dangerous chemicals in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I tried this tonight because my husband is a truck driver and I wanted to practice so I could surprise him when he comes home next week. I have made Salmon, Talapia, etc...But never attempted seared Tuna. I left out the cayenne (not that into spicy seafood) other than that, I followed the recipe as written. It was AWESOME! Next time I will only cook MAX 1 minute per side. It was a little well done for me at 1.5 minutes per side. Even the peppercorn softened and popped for me and added a wonderful flavor. I can't wait to say "surprise! We're having seared Ahi Tuna tonight"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Tuna is my favorite fish, but I had never made it myself before last night! I had two tuna steaks from Fresh Market in the freezer and decided to try this. I did everything except use cayenne and kosher salt. I couldn't find my cayenne, so I used Cajun seasoning and I used my garlic sea salt instead of kosher. I love my tuna rare, so that's where I messed up. I think I did 3 minutes on each side and that was way too long. The pan will be VERY hot, so if you want it rare, you have to move quickly. They were still delicious, but way more cooked than I like. I'm going to go to FM and get more! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States