Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was so good...very easy to make and flavorful. We served it over a bed of sautéed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Terrific! Used frozen Ahi, so I'm guessing next time using fresh will turn out even better. The use of whole peppercorns is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These were great! Didn't change a thing. Sliced and served over a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I agree about the salt. Maybe decrease by half. Also, I would reduce the cooking time by just a little for rare. Other than that, outstanding! I prefer it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I had the heat up too high I think, and I had a thick ahi steak and it came out white and overdone. I did exactly 90 sec per side and used all olive oil and no butter. I am a "newer cook" so any tips are greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was great from a preparation and cooking method standpoint. I've had awesome ahi tuna steaks at restaurants, and this was pretty good. It's best served rare, as this method will produce. I've also had it cooked beyond rare, and it is just not as good...it dries out easily. I did grind my kosher salt with a mortar and pestle so there were not big chunks. Some have complained about the salt...I thought it was fine. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because from a "final product" perspective, I'd like some sort of sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes!!! My husband and I seldom eat tuna out, as it is to often overcooked. We love having sushi out, but is a wonderful at-home alternative. We've eaten as is with potatoes on the side, on salads, or (more recently) in home-made wraps. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Just prepared tonight! fantastic! Absolutly perfect. Put the Ahi over a bed of lettuce, avacodoes and tomatoes with rice as a side. Presentation great and tasted wonderful. Did add alittle white wine, and garlic to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I had the same issue with the smokey oil, but turned down the heat before it got too bad. I also think it's important to note that the time for rare will vary dramatically depending on how cold your tuna is, or if it was previous frozen or not. We only did 2 minutes per side, and it was cooked all the way through. It was still delicious, but next time i'll probably only do 1 minute or less per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I bought my tuna at Costco and it was big enough for two meals for the two of us. I used the same recipe for both meals and absolutely loved it. I cut back on the salt and just sprinkled Kosher salt lightly on both sides of the fish. I did a light covering with the cayenne as well. The first time I heated up the oil and butter and then added the peppercorns. I did not get any popping and the peppercorns were probably a bit or more on the burnt side. It still was delicious. The tuna had a nice crust on both sides and I cooked it for 1.5 minutes per side. We do like our ahi tuna rare. the second time I added the peppercorns to the pan before I heated up th butte and olive oil. There was a lot of popping going on as the oil heated. It didn't take long at all. Again I seared for 1.5 minutes and it was perfectly crusted and delicious. I served it with steamed spinach, a baked potato and tossed salad. I used the Good Seasons salad mix but subsitituted balsamic vinegar for the vinegar and EVOO for the oil. It is our favorite salad dressing;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States