Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
I made this last week and it was very bland and as another reviewer added it totally filled the house with smoke. The smell lasted for days (pepper smoke). I had to replace my stove vent filter! The tuna was totally overcooked at 1.5 minutes. It was edible, but not much more than that. It certainly didn't look anything like the picture and making it was nothing like allrecipes' video. Maybe it was user error on my part, but I followed this recipe exactly. I just made some using my own idea of a recipe and it was easier and tasted much better ... and didn't fill my house with smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
delicious and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Great recipe! I added some green onion to the pan as well when I flipped the Ahi to sear the second side. Will definitely cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
More peppercorns the next time. Absolutely awesome far better than a sushi place!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Arnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was a great recipe. Didn't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
First time I tried making Ahi Tuna at home and it was a hit! This is a very easy recipe with no exotic flavors. The peppercorns added a mild "smokiness" as best as I could tell. I served on a bed of spring lettuces with lemon quarters. I also added white wine to the pan after removing the tuna steaks and served the reduction. We all liked the tuna better without the reduction although 1 person used her lemon. (Doubled recipe and made 4 servings.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
this was great. Never sauteed peppercorns before, but it was really good! Simple and guest-worthy. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My husband and I loved this tuna! My husband gave it high praise, which is really saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I changed this up a bit. My taste buds were not satisfied with the seasonings in the recipe. I added oregano, dill, garlic, and thyme. I put it on top of white rice with veggies then mixed the seasonings in some extra olive oil and drizzled it over the finished product. I didn't slice it I left it as a full steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Cooked on grill in cast iron. Rare is too red for us. Cooked about 2 minutes 30 seconds on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States