Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I only had turnips, sweet potatoes and carrots, but it turned out fantastic! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Roasted root veggies are the way to go in the winter. This recipe makes a ton, so make sure you have a pretty big sheet pan or roasting dish. I add cayenne and cinnamon to all my roasted veg for a sweet/spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I had no butternut squash, so I added a yam to the mix as well as some rosemary. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandyO
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Gave this a try tonight - following the recipe loosely. Added an extra parsnip or two, and an onion and a little garlic. This was easy to put together, other than cutting up the root veggies which is always a challenge for me. It turned out really well. I think next time I may try to add some balsamic as suggested by another reviewer, but overall I was happy with the results. I ended up going about 55 mins using convection roast. Probably could have done another 15 mins because not all of the edges were as browned as I like, but again, this gets into the area of personal preference. I may try this for a potluck sometime. I think that people will be surprised just how good a wide mixture of winter vegetables can taste! Thx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Delicious! I added beet greens and kale, and the root veggies offset the bitterness of the kale. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Simple recipe but very tasty and easy! I always add onions and I usually add about 1-2 Tbs of balsamic vinegar (flavored or regular) and it really adds a unique depth of flavor that goes very well with the veggies! It's also delicious with the addition of herbs like rosemary or italian seasonings. This is a staple for us in our household during fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Thank you Sean's Mommy!! I only used turnips, sweet potatoes, celery, baby carrots and onions. My son and I never had turnips before and I wanted my first experiment with them to be a good one! This recipe did the trick! I added a small dash of balsamic in the "coat". We both had doubles and it's always a success when he doesn't choose to drown his food in either ketchup or ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I used what I had which was baby carrots and 4 turnips. I sprinkled in some dark balsamic before roasting. Since I had a smaller amount, I took them out at 35 minutes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great! Since any root vegies are fine, I used parsnips, carrots, onions and sweet potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was fantastic! I served it at Thanksgiving this year & it is now one that I will serve every year. I actually cut up all the veggies the night before & then placed them in Ziploc bags in the fridge; I roasted them the next day. One note: I roasted them for almost 90 minutes, not the 45 noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States