Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Roasting vegetables adds so much flavor. I add onions and garlic to these veggies and serve them over pasta. A little balsamic vinegar adds more flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was a great way to prepare several root veggies together. I did cut them up and marinate with EVOO and some other spices before putting them in the oven. My husband really enjoyed them. However, I only had to cook for 30 minutes@ 450.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
A little bland. I divided into 2 casserole dishes and ended up adding some red wine to the second which did help. Would definitely add something to this, such as onions and garlic as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made a few substitutions based on what I had (carrots, butternut squash, turnip and golden beet only). But the basic idea I think was the same and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I did not use the squash as it is not a roo vegetable but used everything else.I cut up a large onion and some celery to the mix of parsnips, rutabaga, turnips,sweet potatoes, regular potato, and carrots. I toss the veggies with olive oil and some fresh basil or lemon basil. I have to make a huge pan of these so I can have some left over to use in veggie soup or oxtail soup. During the fall, my church also requests the roasted veggies very often.Some of the people say they don't like this veg or that one but when I tell them they ate them in the mix, they are astonished. Kudos to Sean' Mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These are delicious and perfect for the winter season and I think you can probably use any root vegetables you have. I used turnips, sweet potatoes, beets, and parsnips. So simple, too - I roasted in olive oil for an hour at 400 degrees and they came out perfectly. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was a really tasty, flexible recipe. I only had a rutabaga, the turnips, and a butternut squash on hand, but that was still a great combo. I tossed some garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt, and pepper. The flavors are great, but it also really presents well - the reds, whites, and oranges are beautiful! Also reheats well (I just finished some leftovers for lunch!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I do enjoy roasted vegetables. I bought a bag of pre-cut mostly root vegetables at the Farmer's Market today which contained butternut squash, carrots, potatoes, turnip, parsnip and onions. I added cut up red onion, and 1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary, which I mixed in with the oil and salt and pepper. I roasted the vegetables at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, and then added a cut up clove of garlic and 6 asparagus broken in 2 inch pieces and roasted everything for another 15 minutes. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Didn't have parsnips or butternut squash. Added regular potato, garlic cloves and onions. Got turnips and rutabaga from our CSA and never cooked or tasted before. If, like me, you never had these veggies before then this recipe is a great introduction to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was fantastic! I served it at Thanksgiving this year & it is now one that I will serve every year. I actually cut up all the veggies the night before & then placed them in Ziploc bags in the fridge; I roasted them the next day. One note: I roasted them for almost 90 minutes, not the 45 noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States