Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
used vegies on hand - work well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love root veggies, and this is a perfect way to cook them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I fixed this recipe using only the turnips. Then I added onion and a clove of garlic and cooked in the oven at 450 for 30 minutes.. It was delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldengurl
Living In: Rainelle, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These are delicious and perfect for the winter season and I think you can probably use any root vegetables you have. I used turnips, sweet potatoes, beets, and parsnips. So simple, too - I roasted in olive oil for an hour at 400 degrees and they came out perfectly. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was a really tasty, flexible recipe. I only had a rutabaga, the turnips, and a butternut squash on hand, but that was still a great combo. I tossed some garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt, and pepper. The flavors are great, but it also really presents well - the reds, whites, and oranges are beautiful! Also reheats well (I just finished some leftovers for lunch!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very disappointing. The vegs do not all cook at the same time. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a fantastic addition to our Thanksgiving dinner! It was a first for many to try different vegetables. I added red onion and since the turkey was in the oven at 325, I roasted the veggies for 1 1/2 hours. The next morning, I served a hash with the leftovers, 2 russet potatoes and sausage and over-easy eggs on top. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dillon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Didn't have parsnips or butternut squash. Added regular potato, garlic cloves and onions. Got turnips and rutabaga from our CSA and never cooked or tasted before. If, like me, you never had these veggies before then this recipe is a great introduction to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Used this recipe to guide my own mixture of roasted roots. Cooked beneath a roasting chicken for the last 45 minutes of cooking, using the drippings for oil and hitting with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I did not use the squash as it is not a roo vegetable but used everything else.I cut up a large onion and some celery to the mix of parsnips, rutabaga, turnips,sweet potatoes, regular potato, and carrots. I toss the veggies with olive oil and some fresh basil or lemon basil. I have to make a huge pan of these so I can have some left over to use in veggie soup or oxtail soup. During the fall, my church also requests the roasted veggies very often.Some of the people say they don't like this veg or that one but when I tell them they ate them in the mix, they are astonished. Kudos to Sean' Mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States