Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was fantastic! I served it at Thanksgiving this year & it is now one that I will serve every year. I actually cut up all the veggies the night before & then placed them in Ziploc bags in the fridge; I roasted them the next day. One note: I roasted them for almost 90 minutes, not the 45 noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
i did the same thing only i baked my turkey on top of the root veggies...much more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
It was fun to have a new, but compatible, flavor in each bite of this dish. I cooked it for forty minutes, which was plenty of time. Next time I might only cook it thirty-five minutes or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great! I used some root veggies that I had plus some fingerling potatoes and some sliced sausages! Thanks a bunch!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I do enjoy roasted vegetables. I bought a bag of pre-cut mostly root vegetables at the Farmer's Market today which contained butternut squash, carrots, potatoes, turnip, parsnip and onions. I added cut up red onion, and 1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary, which I mixed in with the oil and salt and pepper. I roasted the vegetables at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, and then added a cut up clove of garlic and 6 asparagus broken in 2 inch pieces and roasted everything for another 15 minutes. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Maybe I didn't do this right, but I wasn't impressed with this recipe. There wasn't that much flavor to the vegetables; and mine came out barely cooked--not roasted. I even left them in an extra 15 minutes. I think I'll try again just because I had such high hopes. I'm considering adding some additional seasonings and maybe covering them with aluminum foil at first to let them cook-through a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I used 1/2 bag of baby carrots, 3 medium russett potatoes, 1 medium rutabaga, 1 medium sweet onion, and 3 medium beets. Tossed (mostly organic) veggies in 3 T of grapeseed oil instead of olive oil -- it's sweeter. Sprinkled lightly with kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper before roasting. Baked at 425 for 60 minutes. The most delicious roasted vegetable dish I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made this with Christmas dinner. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is a great staple and can be tailored for so many vegetables. The veggie mix is important so that you don't use all bland veggies - radishes or onions would help add flavor for example. Next time I'll be sure to remember garlic cloves. Yum! I'll certainly make this again with whatever I have available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used what I had (carrots, parsnips, rutabaga, turnip, yam, onion, beets) and sprinkled with garlic granules as well as pepper (no salt due to health issues). I misread the temp and baked at 350 for 45 min, found that they were still not done (surprise!) although they were starting to brown. I covered with foil and baked another 15 min. Turned out quite good. Hubby started out dubious, then decided that, hey, he actually liked them, but only for once-in-a-while. Next time I'll try for the right temp. This is not for rating this recipe, since it doesn't use beets, but a caution to beet users. They do add color, but the color tends to bleed onto all the other veggies. Tastes fine, but for more formal presentations I would leave out the beet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States