Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
The 5 is for the falafel itself (fantastic!) but I would give it a 3 on the cucumber sauce (meh). I use this falafel recipe & cooking instructions exactly as it but use a different recipe for the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I skipped the sauce and just used plain yogurt instead (I'm not a huge fan of cucumber) while my partner used store bought tzatziki. The falafel themselves turned out great with a few minor adjustments. I skipped the parsley because I did not have any, did not add baking powder, eyeballed the amount of spices I added since I didn't have my measuring spoons and just finely chopped the onion and garlic. I also used only half an onion and fresh lemon juice. I made the falafel patties quite small (about 1.5 - 2 in across and .5 in thick) and made sure the oil was very hot before frying them. I used much less oil than the recipe called for, about .5 in, and even less the second time (just enough to cover the pan really). They didn't fall apart, were crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I ate them in pita bread and, the next day for lunch, on their own just topped with yogurt. The mix keeps well in the fridge, so when I made it for lunch I just fried up a new batch. Next time I will add some fresh chilli pepper to the mix since I like things on the spicy side. Overall this recipe is tasty as is, difficult to go wrong with and a great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I didn't have any corriander but it still came out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Made it exactly as the recipe stated. Turned out great! My entire family, even my picky teenager, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Fabulous!! Only thing I did differently was add more red pepper.....we like things spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyBugaloo
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
First time making this recipe, and it's a winner! I had no trouble with the little patties falling apart (made as written), and I did not have to refrigerate them. I used panko crumbs, though. Maybe that made a difference? I have just a few other recommendations: cutting the salt in the falafel mixture by at least half, and using fresh dill and a couple of cloves of minced garlic in the tzatziki. Lastly, I suggest doubling the recipe and freezing the second batch between pieces of waxed paper for a very quick fix the next time you crave falafel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was awesome! Used tortillas instead of pitas. Everyone loved it, including me, and I'm not a big fan of chickpeas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My first time making falafels and my boyfriend's first time trying them. We ate them all in one sitting, then I made them again the following week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out amazing! The first one I fried fell apart but then I remembered that I forgot to refrigerate the mixture. Refrigerated for 15 minutes and they didn't fall apart again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Yum! First time making homemade falafel and I loved this. I just made WAY more than 8 patties....The first batch (about half the mix) made about 8 large patties, and then I made a second batch with the remainder into smaller balls (about half the size of first) and got about 10 out of that. So I would recommend ignoring the instruction for 8 patties and go with the size you find manageable. I liked the smaller balls, more crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States