Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as written. We couldn't stop eating them! Yummy and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times and it always turns out great. I think my only modifications are in regards to the sauce. I use a little sour cream, garlic, some lemon juice and lots of fresh dill. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pic2548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Okay so I wanted to try it your way first, however I'm not a fan of frying since I'm doing the whole weight loss thing. Still, I don't like tweaking other people's recipes until I've tried it at least ONCE the way that it was written. I noticed that Heavensnt86 mentioned something about baking them and I was curious about that method. Seeing as your recipe makes eight, I decided to half and half it---that way I could try both the baked and fried versions and would still follow the directions...err.. somewhat. Fried is fantastic! This was my very first time attempt at trying them homemade. The directions were simple and they were super duper tasty (err though I burned the holy out of my arm during that frying process but that's all my fault... and thankfully mustard helps). As the Heaven's baking.. well it was still pretty good but it was drier. Luckily the cucumber sauce will help with that. Both are great and I'm definitely making this again. The sauce is incredible though next time I'll try using Greek plain instead of the more watery non-Greek one. This went well with the homemade pita bread that I'd made earlier today. Hands down, a great meal and superb snacks for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Even though this first attempt fell apart, this tasted awesome. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was ok. Could barely get my kids to try it though and they are pretty good about trying most things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
The 5 is for the falafel itself (fantastic!) but I would give it a 3 on the cucumber sauce (meh). I use this falafel recipe & cooking instructions exactly as it but use a different recipe for the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I skipped the sauce and just used plain yogurt instead (I'm not a huge fan of cucumber) while my partner used store bought tzatziki. The falafel themselves turned out great with a few minor adjustments. I skipped the parsley because I did not have any, did not add baking powder, eyeballed the amount of spices I added since I didn't have my measuring spoons and just finely chopped the onion and garlic. I also used only half an onion and fresh lemon juice. I made the falafel patties quite small (about 1.5 - 2 in across and .5 in thick) and made sure the oil was very hot before frying them. I used much less oil than the recipe called for, about .5 in, and even less the second time (just enough to cover the pan really). They didn't fall apart, were crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I ate them in pita bread and, the next day for lunch, on their own just topped with yogurt. The mix keeps well in the fridge, so when I made it for lunch I just fried up a new batch. Next time I will add some fresh chilli pepper to the mix since I like things on the spicy side. Overall this recipe is tasty as is, difficult to go wrong with and a great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I didn't have any corriander but it still came out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Made it exactly as the recipe stated. Turned out great! My entire family, even my picky teenager, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Fabulous!! Only thing I did differently was add more red pepper.....we like things spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States