Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Family loved it! I made about 15 small falafels. Used 2 tablespoons of minced garlic, instead of garlic cloves. I used 6 tablespoons of flour instead of 1 egg, as other reviewers suggested. I used baking soda, instead of baking powder. AS for the sauce: I used 1/2 cup parsley, instead of dill weed. I also added 1 tblsp of minced garlic. I omitted mayo altogether. Sauce turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe for the flafel ,but without the dill weed, and it came out perfect. I don't know where people get the idea to not use the baking soda. It didn't cause any problems and almost every falafel recipe out there calls for it. I used the Trader Joe's Tzatziki as my sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
We loved this recipe, both the falafel and the cucumber sauce were amazing. The only thing I changed was omitting the coriander, since we don't like it. The second time I made it, I gave in to temptation and used the food processor on the cucumber sauce. It lost most of its appeal, so I highly recommend not doing that. Definitely follow the directions on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Great recipe for falafel. I wound up using DEBNJAMES' recipe for tzatziki sauce instead of the one in this recipe, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This recipe was so easy and fast and my family loved it. I am ashamed that I ever used the boxed mixes now that I know it is this easy. I made the mix without the egg in the morning and it sat in the fridge all day. When I got home from work, added the egg and fried them up. I made 6 patties and my husband said next time to double the recipe so he can have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
The sauce was good. I used Greek yogurt instead of regular. The mix seemed to be missing something so I added a squeeze of lemon juice and a dash of lemon pepper, which seemed to do the trick. It's a really good, mild sauce and I like it a lot. Next time, I'd make 1/3rd more sauce because I like cucumber sauce so much. For the patties, I added two eggs and had to substitute cilantro for coriander. Hand-mashing the garbanzos was a bit of a pain because the beans slipped through the space in my 'coil-style' hand masher. I found that quick, angled strokes worked best. It didn't take much pressure to make the soft beans burst. I baked the patties at 400 for 10 minutes a side and then broiled them for two minutes. The texture was good. Having whole beans that slipped through the mash didn't seem to matter. No problem with the baking powder, but I wasn't frying them. Together, the patties and the sauce taste really, really delicious. I'm adding this to my regular meal rotation. I'm hoping the mashed stuff will freeze well so I can have a big tub of this for lazy nights when I don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I baked these at 425 for 20 minutes on an oil spayed, foil lined cookie sheet. Then flipped them and cooked 5-10 min more. Turned out so yummy! Only down fall was I should have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Verry yummy! Didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Tried this recipe several years ago when catering a Mediterranean-themed vegetarian dinner for my church. Loved it! Added some minced garlic to my tzatziki (cucumber sauce). This appetizer was a hit all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I use this as my standard falafel. Like someone else said I not only double but I triple this recipe. I don't even mix by hand! I throw the chickpeas and onion into my food processor until it's just crumbly but still wet. I triple my spices, add cumin and either bake or fry. Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 891) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States