Seafood Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Hot sauce and lemon zest give it that awesome kick for my family. I didn't use peppers and it still came out great. I used a seafood medley of shrimp, mussels, cuttlefish and octupus, and I made some salmon meatballs-- it came out like a restaurant had made it back at home in Mexico. Una Sopa de Mariscos, que todos lo encantaron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was awesome! I used fresh squeezed orange juice and a can of chilli ready diced tomatoes and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! I made it just as written except that I used cooked shrimp. The orange was pretty strong but I Liked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really really great recipe. I replaced the fish with crab and scallops, which was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peacoat
Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Made this New Year's Eve for a great dinner party! Everyone enjoyed the stew. I omitted the rice and oj concentrate though. I added mushrooms and fresh spinach at the end...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was okay. Usually seafood stew does not contain rice, but I did it any way. The rice ended up being too much. The taste was pretty good. Next time I'll probably add more seafood stuff, less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a great seafood soup recipe! Its a great base and is easy to modify. I about doubled the liquids since I was using a lot of seafood (I did not double the orange concentrate since it was a bit dominating). I used fish fillets, whole blue crab and a seafood mix that contained squid, octopus, shrimp and mussels. I also added a half cup of white wine and used canned tomatoes infused with chipotle peppers. I found no need to use salt with this dish. when making this dish, I omitted the rice, but eventually found that it is needed to fill out the dish texturally. I also bought lump crab meat which I spooned into each bowl, then ladled the soup over it. It would be a good idea to serve with lime wedges and crusty bread. Family loved it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod_baby68

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good. Based off others comments, I too used a different fish (cod) and since I'm not fond of shrimp, substituted scallops and crab meat. I did not use the orange juice concentrate, but substituted 1/2 cup white wine and 1/3 cup lime juice. (I was a little timid on how it would taste with lime juice.) I also cut down on the tomatoes as they were too many for my tastes. However, I made one mistake in adding the scallops too soon. Next time I will add the fish and crab meat first and let them cook, then add the scallops at the last minute since they cook so fast. I paired the stew with sliced Italian baquette, and a mixed salad. Wonderful meal. So much so, my friend ate 3 bowls of the stew. I will definitely make this again, and maybe try it with the orange juice concentrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Based on other reviews, I increased the chili powder and added 1/2 c. white wine and mushrooms. The flavor was very good. I didn't care for the texture of the orange roughy in the stew. Next time I will use all shrimp or add some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe has potential, however the recipe as stated tasted like fishy orange juice. Definitely cut back on the concentrate. If you like it hot add either more chili powder or a few splashes of your favorite hot sauce. I'm going to try this one again with some slight modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States