Seafood Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarahbeth
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Well, I enjoyed this but made a few changes... I used calamari and shrimp rather than salmon and clams. Also I never use chicken stock so substituted vegetable broth and it was a bit bland so I topped it off with some grated Parmesan. My husband liked it a lot but I felt like it needed some vegetables like cherry tomatoes or celery added. Over all it was quick and easy and tasted ok so will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahbeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tom Chen
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very good! First time I've ever attempted risotto and my wife loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
A really good starting point, and it produces a fine dish. My swing on the recipe is to season it with a bit of Old Bay--just enough to feel that it's there, but not so much as to make it an Old Bay dish. For seafood, I skip the salmon,and use a dozen medium (26-31-count) peeled and deveined shrimp, a dozen sea scallops, and 1/2 cup lump crab meat. Also, instead of water, I make my own stock by simmering for 20 minutes the shrimp shells, a teaspoon celery salt,and the top leaves from a bunch of celery. Basil is good, but I think thyme is better for this dish. Finally, plate the risotto, sprinkle the tops with good Parmesan cheese and place the plates under the broiler until the edges just begin to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
sooo good! my husband said it was his favorite dinner yet. I added a garlic clove to the onion/ butter mixture, and we added oyster mushrooms, spinach, scallops, and shrimp. we pre cooked the seafood and veggies, and added pepper and salt when to the seafood and veggies before throwing them in with the rice. also stirred the whoooole time. fabulous! a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dad351w
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Needs more clams and less salmon. Bland, needs salt and pepper. If I make it again I'm thinking ill add celery, carrots, mushrooms and no salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad351w

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
used seafood stock and water and reserved clam juice from clams. only used clams Rice needed to be thickened at end. Don't use cheese, didn't want cream. Used 3T butter. perfect. Jeff and Lu loved, Ted not Nick liked it. I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I substituted shrimp for the salmon and I also added some fresh steamed mussels as well. I did 1/2 clam juice, 1/2 chicken stock because I didn't want to overwhelm the dish with the clam juice and I feel that it was a perfect choice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good. Since I'm not a fan of clams I used chicken broth, crabmeat and scallops (which were cooked in wine and garlic). I also added in chopped green peppers and topped with asparagus, diced tomatoes and shredded parmesan. Next time I'll use shrimp in place of crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Turned out Fantastic! Very easy to make. Took the stress out of making Risotto! I added cooked peeled shrimp, frozen peas, and 1 t chopped garlic to the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napoleon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was a good recipe with the twists my hubby and I made. The trick is to use really good stock. We used chicken stock instead of water, and used this to cook 15 fresh clams in their shell, along with the shells from about 10 prawns. We then removed and discarded the shells and added the cooked clams to the canned clams and poured the liquid from the canned clams into the stock. We substituted the saffron and basil for 1 tsp of Old Bay seasoning. We added 2 c. chopped spinach and substituted salmon for 10 prawns and 10 scallops. We added these along with 1 cup grated fresh parmesan cheese with the clams when the risotto was almost ready. Belissimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States