Seafood Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I altered it a bit. I cut up and added in about 6 cooked baby potatoes with the skin on. I didn't have cream of onion soup on hand so I substituted with one 14.75oz can of cream style corn. I used 3/4 cup of milk. I also added in 15 large cooked shrimp and substituted a bag of mixed seafood for the baby shrimp and crabmeat since that is what I had on hand. I also made the pot pie in a 9" pie crust with another 9" pie crust covering the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very good! It was a little runny but I would not add pastry to the bottom. We served this dish on a bed of mashed potatoes which soaked up the juices and with the crunchy pastry on top it was delicious! The sauce will thicken up over time (and is also good the next day). The only thing we changed was we used a bag of mixed seafood (baby octopus, baby calamari, mussels, clams and shrimp) instead of the seafood the recipe called for. Also next time I will use more pastry on the top as it shrunk down a lot more than I had anticipated. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My kids and I really liked the flavor. The problem with it being runny was that it's made in a pan, but the consistency was typical for a pot pie. I think next time I will divide the pastry into ramekins to solve that issue. Good for those that like seafood, why would you even attempt it if you don't like a 'fishy' taste? I didn't want to cover the flavor, it was really good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was not a keeper for our family. It was runny and very processed. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not good and will not make again. Lacked flavor other than "fishy" and runny. A waste of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is wonderful, if you love Pot Pie & you love Seafood you will love this.I made a small change b/c I couldent find Cream of Onion Soup I used Cream of Shrimp and used both sheets of crust. But I recomend that you lay the bottom crust in and poke it w/ a fork making small holes in it, then bake for about ten min. Put the top sheet of pastry on then pour in filling. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elowiggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I read previous reviews so I did reduce the amount of milk to 3/4 cup. It was still a little runny, but overall is was good. The whole family liked it. Next time I think I might try using the whole package of pastry sheets and use one for the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I was unable to find Cream of Onion soup so I used Cream of Mushroom instead. Prior to putting the top pastry sheet on top, I seasoned the mixture with dill, lemon pepper and Johnny's Season Salt. I would also recommend putting a second layer of pastry sheet on the bottom. It was even better on the second day after being refrigerated and reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is very good. I'm from Cape Cod, so I started this recipe knowing I would NEVER use Clam Chowder from a can, and that I would use my own recipe that I always have in my freezer. Everything else stayed the same... although we liked it, I believe I will make it more of a typical pot pie next time by using the full sheet of puff pastry and making a bottom crust for it as well. I found the amount of milk to be just right, as I make a very thick Chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Really yummy. I didn't have puff pastry so I improvised and used cresant rolls flat on top. Took the full 40 minutes to get the top done. Maybe just because I used the rolls. But it came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States