Seafood Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Harper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
So easy n came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delish! I followed a few other reviewers suggestions and was thrilled with the result. I was careful about making sure the flour was cooked off. I added minced garlic, omitted the ketchup, added a touch of cayenne pepper, and substituted white wine for the sherry. I used about 3/4 pound of fresh (frozen) prawns instead of the canned shrimp. Served over rice, my hubby loved it! Can't believe how easy and quick this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was a great dish! Very simple and very tasty, I added about 1/2 cup sherry, to my taste. I put fresh broiled (3 - 6oz) lobster and 1# frozen shrimp. I used Pepperidge Farm Frozen pastry sheets, thawed, cut into 4 squares, put shrimp and lobster chunks, a little sauce, sealed the pastry and 20 minutes at 350. Serve hot with sauce, try twice baked Potatoes as a side. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great recipe. I also took the advice of others to spice this up a bit. I cooked the flour and butter mixture longer than 2 minutes, until it started to brown. I added some garlic, horseradish, and salt and pepper to the ketchup. I added uncooked peeled medium shrimp and cooked them in the sauce for 4 minutes. Served over wheat pasta. The shrimp was so tender and flavorful, the sauce complimented them perfectly! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was delicious, and my family loved it! The recipe doubled easily. I followed advice & added garlic with the butter and flour and left out ketchup and worcestershire (b/c I didn't have any). Great advice! I added catfish, shrimp & scallops & they cooked up quickly and beautifully. The great part is you can control the paprika to your taste & remember some Pillsbury biscuits to sop up the sauce. A great birthday dinner for my sister-in-law. I would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rennie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I've been looking for a great Newburgh recipe to replace the discontinued Knorr sauce mix. This comes the closest to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent base sauce.... But................ Ditch the ketchup and double the sherry..... Turned out excellent! And I only used imitation crab meat over egg noodles.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made this recipe in about 5 mins...it was terribly easy and quite tasty. As commented earlier, it is very important to cook off the flour with butter until there is no longer a flour taste otherwise you have a tasty watery buscuit mix. I didnt particularly care for the taste of ketchup so next time, i will look for alternatives but the consistency and flavor (other than ketchup) was superb. You make dinner quick and easy....thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The flavor was not something either my husband or I liked. It didn't taste bad, but I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States