Seafood Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Has been a favorite appetizer for more than 20 years. I use a small can of crab meat and defrosted salad shrimp (squeeze all the water out of them) instead of all shrimp. I also have substituted low fat cream cheese, lite mayo, and low sodium cream of mushroom soup to make the dish a bit lighter. I present it in a crab shaped mold over a bed of lettuce greens. Still tastes yummy. Great because it is made ahead of time. My kids loved to dive into the leftovers when they were younger (if there were any). Serves a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Just made this AGAIN!!! Please try this. The requests that I get for this recipe is constant!!!! This deserves 10 stars! I added two minced JALAPENO'S to the mix for an extra "kick". My girlfriends raved that it was awesome, a real crowd pleaser.. Some wished that they could make a sandwich out of it. Please try it, it will not look like much until it is cold, I was sooooo happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This molded "mousse" tastes great! I will definitely make this again. Next time I will chop the shrimp a little smaller, though, or use two-three cans of drained tiny shrimp. It is also very pretty if you use a decorative mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Guests hovered around this when I served it as an appetizer. Found it is just as easy to use crab, salmon, or even baby shrimp in this. Also added 1 tsp worchestershire sauce, too, and it made it a little more tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love this recipe and so does my family. I pipe it into puff pastry shells (like cream puff shells but with less sugar) They are the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I love this recipe, could eat it with a spoon! I use cream of mushroom soup instead of celery just because we always have that in the cupboard. This is a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
A surefire crowd pleaser: I have been trying to find a recipe like this for a long time. I substitute condensed tomato soup for celery soup (it gives it a great flavor and color) and I garnish the bottom of the mold with whole shrimps (so they come out on top of the mousse)and serve with Carr's water crackers YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I used 3 cans of the tiny shrimp instead of the 2 cups minced cooked shrimp and it was absolutely delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I have made this recipe for over 30 years. The recipe was given to me by my mother-in-law and no one I know in Maryland has ever seen the recipe. I always add some hot sauce or Tabasco and sometimes OldBay or diced green or peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe was hit at my last party. Everyone raved and wanted the recipe. I will make this for every get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Mousse

This delightfully decadent Peanut Butter Mousse is easy to make and so delicious!

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States